Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby DOOMPiter » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:21 am

Batandy wrote:
DOOMPiter wrote:How in hecc am i supposed to get past a further part in the 1st castle level without IDDQD? I got stuck because the Lava always killed me when i tried to access the next part of the castle.


Hey, since I don't know where exactly you got stuck, I can only tell you at the moment to make sure that you've got always run enabled. If you specify where you got stuck precisely I might be able to help you out.

Remember that Outdoor part? Yeah. THERE is where i got stuck.
User avatar
DOOMPiter
Engineer
 
Joined: 03 Nov 2019
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Batandy » Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:57 am

DOOMPiter wrote:
Batandy wrote:
DOOMPiter wrote:How in hecc am i supposed to get past a further part in the 1st castle level without IDDQD? I got stuck because the Lava always killed me when i tried to access the next part of the castle.


Hey, since I don't know where exactly you got stuck, I can only tell you at the moment to make sure that you've got always run enabled. If you specify where you got stuck precisely I might be able to help you out.

Remember that Outdoor part? Yeah. THERE is where i got stuck.

Have you pushed the block into the lava?
User avatar
Batandy
"If it's not fun, why bother?"
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2011

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Massaraksh » Mon Mar 16, 2020 7:16 am

After about 19 hours, I finally 100%'d the mod. What a blast.
I wish skull keys were used more, or for more creative things, like shortcuts.
Oh, and the star launcher is really hard on the ears.
User avatar
Massaraksh
Banned User
 
Joined: 20 Jan 2018

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby salahmander2 » Thu Jun 04, 2020 12:16 pm

Just noticed an odd thing, on Siholette Sunset, coins dropped by monsters is in full colour compared to the coins already placed, is this intentional?
User avatar
salahmander2
3D floor abuser!
 
Joined: 19 Nov 2014

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Batandy » Thu Jun 04, 2020 2:29 pm

salahmander2 wrote:Just noticed an odd thing, on Siholette Sunset, coins dropped by monsters is in full colour compared to the coins already placed, is this intentional?

Yes, it's intentional.
User avatar
Batandy
"If it's not fun, why bother?"
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2011

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby tsch » Wed Jun 16, 2021 1:47 pm

ok perhaps i'm an idiot but my problem is i get stuck near the begining of the 1st level, because the dude doesn't jump far enough? i get through the first few platforms but the first one that's a bit further away is too far for me to jump on. i messed around with the settings and updated gzdoom but nope, my jumps are to short to finish the 1st level.
tsch
 
Joined: 16 Jun 2021
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Batandy » Sat Jun 19, 2021 10:35 am

tsch wrote:ok perhaps i'm an idiot but my problem is i get stuck near the begining of the 1st level, because the dude doesn't jump far enough? i get through the first few platforms but the first one that's a bit further away is too far for me to jump on. i messed around with the settings and updated gzdoom but nope, my jumps are to short to finish the 1st level.


Please make sure you're not running Golden Souls 2 with any other mods or addons,the jump height should be enough for you to make it across those platforms.
If you haven't also make sure Always run is enabled.
User avatar
Batandy
"If it's not fun, why bother?"
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2011

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby karry299 » Wed Sep 01, 2021 11:20 pm

Thanks to the feedback of the community, GS2's gameplay is vastly improved over the original game!

Personally, i'm on a fence here. Some things are just too different, and cant be objectively called better OR worse, and other things are IMO a step back.
-going back to the previous levels and shops is longer and more annoying, since you have to conform to the tight corridors (also, exiting levels is somewhat disorienting now, whereas before you always spawned looking away from the painting)
-many levels include a significantly increased amount of backtracking, compared to Golden Souls 1
-that one sunset level, where it's practically mandatory to have fog turned on to be able to see anything. i usually play with fog turned off.
-infinite underwater breathing, thanks ! On the other hand, the amount of lava and general instakill traps is increased by 1000%. Fair trade-off ? i dont know.
-only got to map15 so far, but already encountered two spots where it seems to require side-strafing to proceed.
-boss arenas...urgh...instakill bosses are no fun. the deep one boss in particular is terrible, dont know how to beat that thing without quicksaving every 10 seconds.
karry299
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2020

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby GameKnut » Thu Nov 11, 2021 6:22 pm

I've been playing this mod lately, and it's been tons of fun. The weapons feel good, the platforming doesn't make me want to tear my hair out, and the level humor and nostalgia are great.

I've run into a little problem, though. In Crescent Moon Manor, I'm supposedly missing 1 gold spider, but after following a walkthrough (more than a few times), I've gotten all of them. The map doesn't show any jewels uncollected, either. The counter still says 1, but there aren't any more spiders to kill, and this is the last spider I need for Madame Caco.
I don't know what I did to break the counter; maybe I saved and loaded too soon after killing a spider? At any rate, I've put 17 hours of playtime in on this file, and as much fun as it's been, I don't want to start all over. Is there some workaround I could do, like resetting the level or spawning a spider via console commands?

EDIT: After (very) tediously scrolling through the dumpclasses actor command, I found what I needed.
Thanks for all your hard work, again; the mod is incredible!
GameKnut
 
Joined: 12 Oct 2021

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Red-Azurite, salahmander2 and 10 guests