Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Batandy » Mon Jul 01, 2019 3:09 am

Max_Imus wrote:Is there a way to get the maps only + the mario jump?

DabbingSquidward wrote:I cobbled this together real quick. I hope you're cool with it, Batandy. Otherwise I will remove it again.
Attached are a modified DEC_WEPS and MAPINFO. The former removes the editor numbers from all weapons and ammo pickups, the latter assigns their editor numbers to vanilla Doom equivalents.

For the jump height, grab m8f's Ultimate Custom Doom viewtopic.php?f=43&t=64678 and set the jump multiplier to 1.875

Last but not least, upon starting the game, type "give token_hudenabler" in the console otherwise you will have no HUD.


I'm okay with this, though I also agree with CaptainJ's post, the custom weapons are a huge part of this mod's charm and I'd really suggest you to play it as it is.
User avatar
Batandy
"If it's not fun, why bother?"
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2011

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby StroggVorbis » Tue Jul 02, 2019 4:31 am

@Batandy,

where does one find the Health Overcharges? I stumbled over them while looking at the DEC_ITEM lump, are they cut content or actually in the game?

Thx in advance
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Donut eat me pls!
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Location: Germany
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Batandy » Wed Jul 03, 2019 1:15 am

DabbingSquidward wrote:@Batandy,

where does one find the Health Overcharges? I stumbled over them while looking at the DEC_ITEM lump, are they cut content or actually in the game?

Thx in advance


Yes, those are cut content. I wanted to experiment with Wolfenstein-like overcharges but felt like they didn’t add anything to the gameplay.
User avatar
Batandy
"If it's not fun, why bother?"
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2011

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby YasuoProjectX » Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:55 am

Well we dont need Super Mario 64 to download from ROM or WII emulator

Just download Golden Souls 2 for Doom
User avatar
YasuoProjectX
Dead is like a wind, always by my side!
 
Joined: 09 Oct 2018
Location: Ionia
Discord: Xx_SappHire_xX
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Josko » Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:11 pm

Do you still accept mappers for this project? Would love to create a lava level underground or something ^^
Josko
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2017

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby UnbornDecay25 » Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:19 pm

Okay is my rig just stupid or is there a way to cut down on some of the lag in certain levels? I know this has been explained countless times but I cant seem to find it. Yes I now this is redundant, but I cant find a way, even with the Vulkan render
UnbornDecay25
 
Joined: 30 Oct 2018

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Batandy » Wed Jul 10, 2019 5:49 am

Josko wrote:Do you still accept mappers for this project? Would love to create a lava level underground or something ^^


I'm sorry but other than patching the game, i'm not actively working anymore on additional content for GS2, so I don't accept custom maps anymore.

UnbornDecay25 wrote:Okay is my rig just stupid or is there a way to cut down on some of the lag in certain levels? I know this has been explained countless times but I cant seem to find it. Yes I now this is redundant, but I cant find a way, even with the Vulkan render


This heavily depends on your CPU's single core performance. I've played and tested this mod with an AMD FX chip and only had 3 maps that ran below 60 fps, due to their open ended structure. If that happens to you too, try scaling down the render resolution or disabling some post process effects.
User avatar
Batandy
"If it's not fun, why bother?"
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2011

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Max_Imus » Tue Aug 06, 2019 7:15 pm

Why won't the blocks in Calescent Castle let me shove them off the edges? I seriously can't finish the level without using cheats.
Max_Imus
 
Joined: 13 Mar 2019
Discord: 3410
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby StroggVorbis » Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:17 am

Max_Imus wrote:Why won't the blocks in Calescent Castle let me shove them off the edges? I seriously can't finish the level without using cheats.


Check if any comlatibility options are enabled. I believe wallrunning must be disabled for them to behave correctly.
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Donut eat me pls!
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Location: Germany
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby Batandy » Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:04 am

DabbingSquidward wrote:
Max_Imus wrote:Why won't the blocks in Calescent Castle let me shove them off the edges? I seriously can't finish the level without using cheats.


Check if any comlatibility options are enabled. I believe wallrunning must be disabled for them to behave correctly.


Specifically, just putting the compatibility to default would solve the issue without having to look for the specific flag.
User avatar
Batandy
"If it's not fun, why bother?"
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2011

Re: Doom: The Golden Souls 2 | OUT NOW! | Current Ver: 1.4

Postby siealex » Mon Oct 28, 2019 3:00 am

Venom Villa: it is possible to jump up to the roof of the first building near its right portal, then run to the opposite side of the roof and to the main exit. Is it by design?
PS, it's also possible to trumpetbuss-jump at the left edge of this building directly from the starting point to the main exit.
siealex
 
Joined: 17 Mar 2009

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Carrotear, Gez, Regios, Vostyok and 10 guests