Wolfenstein 3D TC (Version 3.0)

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby AFADoomer » Tue Mar 30, 2010 7:39 pm

phi108 wrote:It was a bit confusing at first, but like this:

In "Wolf3d GZDoom.bat", I edited the following lines like so:

IF EXIST "zdoom-%username%-Wolf3D.ini" (
REM If so, run normally
start ..\gzdoom.exe -config "zdoom-%username%-Wolf3d.ini" -iwad C:\*Path*\doom2.wad -file Wolf3D.pk3 Wolf3D_*.pk3 Wolf3DGL.pk3 %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %8 %9 %10 "C:\*Path*\1024cla2.zip"


That loads Doom2 as the iwad, and 1024cla2.zip (or wad) as the last pwad. You can just move doom2.wad and the pwad into the wolf3d folder.
Is this is the way to do it, AFADoomer? It seems to work correctly. I haven't tried Doom 1 yet.


Yeah, that works... Alternate way is to just select your PWAD and one of the IWADs, and drag-and-drop them on top of the batch file.

Note that if you try to play through the original levels, you'll need to include a new mapinfo file as well, since the level flow isn't the same as the TC levels, so Doom 2's won't advance, and Doom's won't go to secret levels (or episodes finish, in some cases) properly. Individual maps work fine, though.
User avatar
AFADoomer
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby Enjay » Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:24 am

As is customary every now and again, I'm just dropping in to this thread to praise the completeness of feel and quality of this TC. I still think it is utterly amazing just how convincing this is as a "Wolfenstein ported to a modern engine" versus "just" a Doom TC. Personally, I think I'd rather play the TC than NeoWolf.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby NeuralStunner » Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:48 pm

Looks awesome still. :D

... Although the bosses seem a lot weaker (HP-wise) than the originals. :?
User avatar
NeuralStunner
not actually a catgirl
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: =o_O=
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby Skutarth » Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:27 pm

Looking good overall. I love the GZDoom pushwalls. I'd like to point out that the episode 1 ending is broken in both ZDoom and GZDoom (but not in the same way). It still ends the level, but the camera/animation sequence is all wrong and there are checker pattern "missing texture" textures hanging in the air. You probably already knew that, though.

I can't wait for somebody to go through and make proper sprites for the 8 directions on all the monsters. Almost all of the normal enemies already have all the directions except for shooting animations and the pain frame. The bosses and the hitler warlock would be the hard parts. Hopefully somebody takes up the task eventually. While from my experience, the gameplay for coop is working near flawlessly, the graphics are a little janky due to the missing frames.
User avatar
Skutarth
mmmm yes
 
Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Location: Hell

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby Xaser » Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:23 pm

I think someone actually made rotations for Hans Grosse once (or at least partial ones -- I've seen a set somewhere), though certainly not for all the bosses just yet.

Now, I suddenly feel the need to play this now that I've realized that I've never actually played through the full original game... semi-nostalgia time!
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby Skutarth » Fri Apr 09, 2010 8:19 pm

Xaser wrote:I think someone actually made rotations for Hans Grosse once


Was it this one?
http://www.skulltag.com/forum/viewtopic ... 33&p=92160

Honestly, it's not bad at all. It does need a little editing, though. He looks too thin. This would also be useful for the other bosses, I think.
User avatar
Skutarth
mmmm yes
 
Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Location: Hell

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby Xaser » Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:35 pm

Ah, that's the one I was thinking of, I believe. It actually looks rather good except for the horrendous hunchback 3-7 rotation. Still, that's only one out of five that need real fixing. I might actually do that myself if I get the inspiration-ness. :P
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby NeuralStunner » Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:09 pm

Marty Kirra was working on one, based off the HWD. Sadly I seen anything from him (Marty, not Hans) in a while... :(
User avatar
NeuralStunner
not actually a catgirl
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: =o_O=
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby D2 Mod Player » Fri Jun 25, 2010 4:21 pm

AFADoomer, thanks for the update. I believe I missed it because I haven't been working on my HD update for your TC in the last few months. I have yet to make a website to release it, though besides Lost Levels which is still a work in progress, it's mainly completed (I sent you an email in early development about it which you ignored). But that's not what I want to focus on since this is your forum. I just have a few bugs to report now that I know your still actually working on this TC. :)

Blinking ghost, I think this one was reported before but I'm sure it's due to frames being incorrectly allocated. It's annoying. If you don't fix this I'll make that ghost in my version is partially transparent so the blinking won't be so distracting.

I've converted about 1000 levels from different old sets without code editing and have found a few problems.

Double doors don't convert correctly. Where there's supposed to be the second door, there's a wall instead. To solve this in the few places they occur I've edited the original Wolf 3D levels to space out the doors more or remove one door. Then I reconvert them to the TC. Unfortunately I've yet to figure out how to use Doom builder to edit your TC levels so that's not an option. Would appreciate a short and to the point guide on how to do this.

Here's a bug which may never be fixable, due to the nature of 3D models in GZ Doom. So I mainly just call it a missing feature. It's not noticeable in the original game because enemies are on the main not behind pushwalls. In Spear of Destiny and especially user created level sets it's quite noticeable. Pushwalls do not stop enemy guards from spotting you. While they can't do damage to you it makes you aware of the secret area and often times can block the pushwall from opening. They continually fire at you until you move out of their view.

I had to reconvert the original level sets to work properly. Both Wolfenstein 3D and Spear of Destiny. Your release probably uses your older version and pushwalls don't work and doors are blocked by walls in later episodes. That's a minor problem since I've solved that on my version.

A very big bug deals with level conversion of episodes 4-6. I'd have to look through my work again to be more specific, but if I recall correctly, it's episode 4 boss levels that often fail to convert. Maybe sometimes episode 5 as well. I'm sure it has something to do with the boss part of the level and how the level is read by the converter, but I don't know what the problem is. Even the Windows version which I don't use due to not fully implementing pushwalls (at least without your specific files for support) doesn't help. On the main I use the command prompt version since that's fully featured.

The main issue with using the level converter is levels being renamed. Thanks to reading this forum I've figured out how to convert those using a hex editor to remove bad data from them.

Thank you again for creating this TC. It's provided me with nearly a year of entertainment while I created textures to replace the whole game. Without it I would have been very bored due to poor health and would have learned nothing. :)
D2 Mod Player
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2010

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby Gez » Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:14 am

About pushwalls, by the way, Graf has started work on an overhaul of polyobjects, and once it is finished and merged into the main ZDoom trunk, it'll mean it'll be possible to turn pushwalls into polyobjects. No visual glitches anymore if they go out of their sector or share it with other polyobjects!
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby ZDG » Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:25 am

He started working back on GZD? Great!
User avatar
ZDG
NEOMARINE
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2010
Location: in SlumpEd

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby Gez » Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:29 am

That's not GZDoom, that's ZDoom.

And he only stopped working on the hardware renderer.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby .+:icytux:+. » Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:05 pm

dont know if it makes a diffrence any more but theese sprites are pretty cool for the hans grosse rotations:
Image
made by its nature to die
User avatar
.+:icytux:+.
Mr. Happy of the Day!
 
Joined: 17 May 2007
Location: Finland

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby D2 Mod Player » Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:15 pm

That Hans Grosse is cool. :) I have a much more finished 512x512 Hans that I reanimated myself that uses Mac graphics from the higher res version (hopefully you guys will see it all completed some day). I then added more frames to make it more detailed like the PC version and put it through some nice filters. So he only faces you just like the original (I'm recreating the original after all with the help of the TC) but looks much better. No more giant pixels. This version has 32 bit blending but still looks like the original, just much better.

OK, so he's working on polyobjects but it's for the software renderer. Strange. I would think that would be a GZDoom specific feature since from what I'm told that's the only version of ZDoom that supports 3D models (kind of the same thing I guess but true solid objects). Anyway, I have 3D models in my version, so no more lousy sprites (except enemies). :) I redid all the skins to look much more modern and up to date, and to be up to par with the high resolution textures for everything else.

Thanks for the comments guys.

If it ever becomes possible for pushwalls to be almost just like real walls that would be great but I'll wait for the TC author to have his say, I'm sure he knows the difficulties and if it will ever be implemented.

Edit: By the way, I haven't played the new version yet since my graphics update right now is deeply rooted in the old version. As far as I can tell from the report of the update in March, these bugs or missing features are still present.
D2 Mod Player
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2010

Re: Wolfenstein 3D TC (New: Co-op, pushwalls in GZDoom)

Postby Gez » Sun Jun 27, 2010 3:57 am

D2 Mod Player wrote:OK, so he's working on polyobjects but it's for the software renderer.

No, it's not just for the software renderer. When the code is ported to GZDoom, it'll work with the hardware renderer as well.

The reason there are graphical glitches with polyobjects is not one of rendering per se, it's one of inadequate handling of the information to render. Raven Software developed polyobjects in a way which was not exactly correct, as far as the code logic goes, but which had the advantage of being fast enough to run on the computers of that time. The sound way of handling polyobject requires doing some nodebuilding work every tic for them. Today's computers can handle that easily enough, but that wasn't true for a 386!

See this thread for more info.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: salahmander2, Viscont23 and 4 guests