Hocusdoom RELEASED (/idgames pending)

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Hocusdoom RELEASED (/idgames pending)

Postby ravage » Tue Dec 08, 2020 5:23 pm

Mod_till_crash wrote:a glitch with i found in the 3th map when u take the white potion the one that gives u rapid fire, the overlay for showing its active is misaligned it covers like3/4 of the screens. i have a garbage pc otherwise i would have shown some screenshots. have tryed different versions of gzdoom messed around with video settings nothing fixed it

TLDR:- Rapid fire potion[white one] overlay to show its active is misaligned :u

Its been fixed for the next version.
User avatar
ravage
YAHOO!
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2003

Re: Hocusdoom RELEASED (/idgames pending)

Postby Woolie Wool » Sat Dec 26, 2020 11:13 pm

Is something forcing this mod to use the OPL emulation? How do I disable it? I want my SC-88, damnit!
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Call Apogee Say "Snappity!"
 
Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Discord: Woolie Wool#9878
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Hocusdoom RELEASED (/idgames pending)

Postby Gez » Sun Dec 27, 2020 4:23 am

I don't see any instance of $mididevice in the SNDINFO lump, checking in hocusdoom-01-26-2019.pk3.

And going to the "change game options" menu to set MIDI device to various things show a very clear difference between OPL and my usual setting.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Hocusdoom RELEASED (/idgames pending)

Postby ravage » Sun Dec 27, 2020 11:56 pm

Gez wrote:I don't see any instance of $mididevice in the SNDINFO lump, checking in hocusdoom-01-26-2019.pk3.

And going to the "change game options" menu to set MIDI device to various things show a very clear difference between OPL and my usual setting.

Its all the way at the bottom of sndinfo. I've been debating whether to remove them or not. I had originally set them because OPL with the GENMIDI that hisymak is how they're originally meant to be heard, or at least that's what I know them to sound. But I've had a lot of complaints about it so I dunno. Honestly, it'd be nice if gzdoom had a 'use default' setting and then let you override them yourself.
User avatar
ravage
YAHOO!
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2003

Re: Hocusdoom RELEASED (/idgames pending)

Postby KynikossDragonn » Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:38 am

I don't presently have Hocus Pocus at the moment, but did it ever allow you to use General MIDI in it? Because, as far as I know it uses MIDI for everything.

A really really old beta of Hocus Pocus used IMF on the other hand. (But even those old IMF's don't sound like Hocus Pocus with OPL music)

I guess removing those $mididevice declarations out of the bottom of SNDINFO will enable using whatever? That shouldn't interfere with the DMX GENMIDI lump you have in the PK3 I would hope.
User avatar
KynikossDragonn
 
Joined: 12 Dec 2020
Location: Independence, KS, USA
Twitch ID: kynikossdragonn
Github ID: KynikossDragonn
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Hocusdoom RELEASED (/idgames pending)

Postby wildweasel » Wed Dec 30, 2020 12:11 pm

KynikossDragonn wrote:That shouldn't interfere with the DMX GENMIDI lump you have in the PK3 I would hope.

Nope - only OPL is affected by that lump (GZDoom's OPL emulator, or the Sound Blaster setting in vanilla Doom - not that the latter matters here!).
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Hocusdoom RELEASED (/idgames pending)

Postby KynikossDragonn » Wed Dec 30, 2020 2:28 pm

For what it's worth, the IMF version of Hocus Pocus's music can be downloaded here: http://www.vgmpf.com/Rips/HocusPocus-DOS.zip

I haven't tried using the IMF soundtrack inside of GZDoom though. They play just fine in adplay without having to put them in a database file so I assume they use the same "clockspeed" as the Commander Keen 4-5 games.

It'd be interesting to include these beta IMFs as a soundtrack option if such a thing is possible to implement in GZDoom.
User avatar
KynikossDragonn
 
Joined: 12 Dec 2020
Location: Independence, KS, USA
Twitch ID: kynikossdragonn
Github ID: KynikossDragonn
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests