Page 17 of 29

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 12:56 am
by wildweasel
I finally started goofing off with the most recent version and have a bug to report: if "switch weapons on pickup" is set to No from Player Setup, the gun in map20 can't be selected unless you put in a command in the console to use it, since it does not have a weapon slot.

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:56 am
by ravage
Redownload it, hopefully I fixed that.

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:04 am
by Tormentor667
Still impressed how one man is able to come up with all that stuff. Thanks for your dedication ravage :)

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:39 am
by JohnnyTheWolf
ravage wrote:
JohnnyTheWolf wrote:*Sigh* Another day, another awesome-looking Doom mod to play... :(

Kidding aside, will the final release come with a custom shortcut icon?

Of course!


Thank you! :D

On a side-note, I am not sure I understand the point (no pun intended) of the scoring system. Is it just there for bragging rights or are there actual rewards for reaching a certain amount of points?

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:00 pm
by ravage
The original game had a permanent scoreboard, so bragging rights like any other game of the era.

I'm still looking help for implementing such a thing, btw, as I have zero clue what to do.

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:57 am
by Tormentor667
This is not possible as long as ZDoom doesn't include some kind of global save that gets loaded upon System start.maybe it's the perfect moment for a feature request? I would recommend this also for BoA

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:01 am
by Gez
It's possible with custom console variables, actually. See CVARINFO and related articles.

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:34 am
by Tormentor667
Gez wrote:It's possible with custom console variables, actually. See CVARINFO and related articles.

Oh my god, this is brilliant, I never knew this might work :)

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 4:54 pm
by ravage
I knew those existed, but the real trick would be if I could create a menu that was the highscore table, showing static results for cvars.

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:02 am
by Tormentor667
ravage wrote:I knew those existed, but the real trick would be if I could create a menu that was the highscore table, showing static results for cvars.

If you ever manage to get that done somehow, please let me know :)

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:48 am
by ravage
Image
Image
Showcasing some new things I've been working on!

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 4:18 pm
by Tormentor667
How?!

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:44 pm
by ravage
Tormentor667 wrote:How?!

Its not done through the menu sadly. Its just a regular toggleable script in-game.

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:26 pm
by Tormentor667
Ah, that's sad, I was already going crazy :) BTW, did you read my pm?

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:27 pm
by ravage
I did, but I'm going to have to decline. I just don't have the energy to work on multiple projects.