Hocusdoom BETA (new version 10-15-2019) almost there

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby wildweasel » Thu Jan 05, 2017 1:56 am

I finally started goofing off with the most recent version and have a bug to report: if "switch weapons on pickup" is set to No from Player Setup, the gun in map20 can't be selected unless you put in a command in the console to use it, since it does not have a weapon slot.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby ravage » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:56 am

Redownload it, hopefully I fixed that.
User avatar
ravage
YAHOO!
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2003

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby Tormentor667 » Thu Jan 05, 2017 4:04 am

Still impressed how one man is able to come up with all that stuff. Thanks for your dedication ravage :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby JohnnyTheWolf » Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:39 am

ravage wrote:
JohnnyTheWolf wrote:*Sigh* Another day, another awesome-looking Doom mod to play... :(

Kidding aside, will the final release come with a custom shortcut icon?

Of course!


Thank you! :D

On a side-note, I am not sure I understand the point (no pun intended) of the scoring system. Is it just there for bragging rights or are there actual rewards for reaching a certain amount of points?
JohnnyTheWolf
Banned User
 
Joined: 05 Oct 2015

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby ravage » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:00 pm

The original game had a permanent scoreboard, so bragging rights like any other game of the era.

I'm still looking help for implementing such a thing, btw, as I have zero clue what to do.
User avatar
ravage
YAHOO!
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2003

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby Tormentor667 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:57 am

This is not possible as long as ZDoom doesn't include some kind of global save that gets loaded upon System start.maybe it's the perfect moment for a feature request? I would recommend this also for BoA
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby Gez » Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:01 am

It's possible with custom console variables, actually. See CVARINFO and related articles.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby Tormentor667 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:34 am

Gez wrote:It's possible with custom console variables, actually. See CVARINFO and related articles.

Oh my god, this is brilliant, I never knew this might work :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby ravage » Sat Jan 07, 2017 5:54 pm

I knew those existed, but the real trick would be if I could create a menu that was the highscore table, showing static results for cvars.
User avatar
ravage
YAHOO!
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2003

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:02 am

ravage wrote:I knew those existed, but the real trick would be if I could create a menu that was the highscore table, showing static results for cvars.

If you ever manage to get that done somehow, please let me know :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby ravage » Wed Jan 25, 2017 2:48 am

Image
Image
Showcasing some new things I've been working on!
User avatar
ravage
YAHOO!
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2003

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby Tormentor667 » Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:18 pm

How?!
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby ravage » Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:44 am

Tormentor667 wrote:How?!

Its not done through the menu sadly. Its just a regular toggleable script in-game.
User avatar
ravage
YAHOO!
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2003

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby Tormentor667 » Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:26 pm

Ah, that's sad, I was already going crazy :) BTW, did you read my pm?
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Hocus Doom (new version 03-07-2016)

Postby ravage » Thu Jan 26, 2017 7:27 pm

I did, but I'm going to have to decline. I just don't have the energy to work on multiple projects.
User avatar
ravage
YAHOO!
 
Joined: 03 Sep 2003

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kinsie and 6 guests