WINGCODOOM(DEMO VIDEO AVAILABLE!)

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

WINGCODOOM(DEMO VIDEO AVAILABLE!)

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:46 am

I always loved playing wing commander on the Amiga 1200 when I was a little boy and today I think: "WOW, this game does not seem to be technically too different from ZDoom, so why not mix it together?"

I was very sad to read on the internet, that EA Games did never keep the source code (officially it has got lost when Origin Interactive quit its business :( ) so instead of getting the source code by decoding the exe, why not rather redo the game from scratch?


So here we go: For testing purposes, I made a huge map with a test skybox all around, the whole map is covered by an invisible 3d Water Floor. I never made any custom HUDs, so I currently made the spaceship cockpit to be a weapon (silly :D)

I use a selfmade little script to avoid the player from drowning and the Fly cheat to make the flight more realistic and to avoid the "weapon" to bob around, I can already fire Rockets and Plasma balls towards cacodemons, which I think could be recoded to act like enemy spaceships. (Original sprites from Wing Commander can be found on the internet)


Image
Image
Image


So because I am a rookie in coding, any help is welcome :D
Last edited by WARCHILD_89 on Sat May 02, 2015 2:19 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)

Postby Failure » Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:34 pm

OMFG someone finally is making a ship mod for DOOM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gl33V3fh7k0

k. gud luk sry 4 shitpost kthxbye
Failure
Banned User
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2012

Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)

Postby Bitterman » Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:19 pm

Would you be interested in a skybox like this?
Spoiler:


Of course, it may be too hdz for this project.
User avatar
Bitterman
Life of the party
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2012
Location: Stranded on Lh'owon

Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:30 am

yeah that skybox looks pretty damn cool ! Mine is just one picture I would need to find a Texture that fills really the whole skybox since I realized that the Skybox Viewpoint camera is looking all-around itself and not only in one direction....

And then to make the edges and corners somehow invisible to the eye. As you see, my skybox is actually looking like a BOX. and not like space..... The Box would need to be a sphere, but how to make a skysphere instead of a skybox? ....


Or i just made it terribly wrong.... :D
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:33 am

@Bitterman: the video was funny anyway ;)
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:29 am

Announcement:

This Project will be part of my Doom Nemesis Project.

Doom Nemesis will start this way:

After surviving Doom and Doom 2, our Doomguy gets found on earth by a huge spaceship controlled by an alliance of former UAC Members and the remains of earths army. Some flying Monsters are able to survive in space and Approach the spaceship. You will have to fight inside the ship, repair and defend the ship from the outside and everything will end up in a big space combat before getting crushed and falling all the way down back to earth.

So you see I have already an idea for a prologue to Doom Nemesis =)

wish me good luck in coding this, there has to be some ACS scripts...
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:47 am

Does anyone know how to scale the cockpit sprite according to the screen resolution???
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)

Postby Endless123 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:08 am

WARCHILD_89 wrote:Does anyone know how to scale the cockpit sprite according to the screen resolution???


I think you could use an ACS script like this one


Code: Select allExpand view
#library "any_name_here.txt" //note that the name is irrelevant but if you have lots of scripts you should use a name that will help you remember what it does

#include "zcommon.acs"

#define Image_name_here 1
str image_string = "Image_name_here";

Script "any_name_here" (VOID)
{
        SetHudSize(640,480,0);  // your resolution here - preferably with the same size as the image you want to use as HUD
        SetFont(CHUD);  // this line set the image_string(can be any name BTW) to be used as font
// The next line is to display the image as HUD by the mean of HUDMESSAGE, the 'A' is replaced by the image you have defined earlier
        HudMessage(c:'A'; HUDMSG_PLAIN | HUDMSG_ALPHA, 128, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 320.0, 240.0, 0, 0.4);
// The delay line is to prevent the script runaway error
        delay(1);
}


Here is the HUD animation i'm using in one of my mod. This script is a modified version of Cybermind's radar script and it's show another way to define multiple images and use one defined word for all images.

Code: Select allExpand view
#define F_RADAR_SIZE 12  // this means F_RADAR_SIZE is composed of 12 elements that should be all in the string(str F_RADAR)
str F_RADAR[F_RADAR_SIZE] =
    {"RADAR1", "RSAFEZ", "RSAFEZ1", "RSAFEZ2", "RSAFEZ3", "RSAFEZ4",
    "RSAFEZ5", "RSAFEZ6", "RSAFEZ7", "RSAFEZ8", "RSAFEZ9", "RSAFEZA"};
Script 868 (VOID)
{
    int atic = 0;
   int MRadarC = CheckInventory("MRadarOn");
   
    while(MRadarC == 1) // Escape if gone!
    {
        SetHudSize(640,480,0);
        SetFont(F_RADAR[atic]);
        HudMessage(c:'A'; HUDMSG_PLAIN | HUDMSG_ALPHA, 128, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 320.0, 360.0, 0, 0.2);
       
        if(atic == 0) // Special case for first/last frames
            delay(8);
        else if(atic == F_RADAR_SIZE - 1)
            delay(10);
        else
            delay(1);
           
        atic++;
        atic %= F_RADAR_SIZE;
    }
}


So if your HUD image is called MyHUD.png and you want the string to be named "HUD2" here is how the script would look like. Note that the script name doesn't matter and you can even use a number as long as the script has no error it should work fine

Code: Select allExpand view
#library "MyNewHUD.txt" 
#include "zcommon.acs"

#define  MyHUD 1
str HUD2 = " MyHUD";

Script "MyNewHUD" (VOID)
{
        SetHudSize(640,480,0);
        SetFont(HUD2); 
        HudMessage(c:'A'; HUDMSG_PLAIN | HUDMSG_ALPHA, 128, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 320.0, 240.0, 0, 0.4);
        delay(1);
}


Also note that the location of the image is at 320.0, 240.0 with an 0.4 alpha(transparency), Those can be changed to fit your needs

it should work since it's working well on one of the mods i'm working on

Ho and the image i used in my mod is a 4:3 ratio (resolution of 640x480) and i had to adjust the location at 320.0(x), 240.0(y) to make it display properly so my guess is you will probably have to do the same .

EDIT : I forgot to say something REALLY important. (VOID) script needs to be called by an actor so if you have a script for the player you can call the ACS there or you can just replace the (VOID) by ENTER and the script will execute at the beginning of all maps. Also add a loadacs.txt with the name of your script inside so zdoom will load it instead of ignoring it. One more thing, the ACS script needs to be compiled with Slade 3 (or any other programs capable of compiling ACS) I know it might sounds complicated but it's not. If you need help let me know. I'll do whatever i can to help you.
Endless123
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2013

Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:25 am

I see, well at the moment it is defined as a non-bobbing weapon that fires missiles and laser shots hahaha

Thanks for your help I will try this as soon as I can. My resolution is 1920x1080 and I will use it only in one map by the way (Defending Mothership in space before getting hit and taking the story further on the surface of earth)

If this works, the classic wing commander as I know it from the amiga OS could be rebuilt into GZDOOM maybe in future projects....
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)

Postby Ozymandias81 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:30 am

You may find some interesting models here...
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Github ID: Ozymandias81
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:02 am

Ozymandias81 wrote:You may find some interesting models here...




AWESOME ! :wub:


unfortunately I have only enough skills to create standard 2D Actors out of this. I have never learned to work with 3d models ....


I barely started understanding how I make VOxel objects work....
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)

Postby Ozymandias81 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 10:53 am

It's awful easy to use models... just take a look to MODELDEF definitions, then compare them with Paranoid TC or Gore (eh eh eh, advertisingadvertisingadvertising)...

Unfortunately, these Wing Commander models are in 3DS Max format, so you'll need Blender or MilkShape 3d to convert them in mdl/md2/md3 files...
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Github ID: Ozymandias81
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: WINGCODOOM(implementing into Doom Nemesis Mod)

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Thu Apr 30, 2015 5:08 am

Going to use the idea of flying through space and killing monsters for a short episode scenario of mine in Doom Nemesis. So you will have to escort the fleeing remains of humanity from the space station towards earth´s surface and beware them from attacking monsters within space itself. Transporters are already flying MD2 models and I already use them in an animation on my title map, hopefully the player himself will also be a scpace fighter vehicle with a fitting model and third person view
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Re: WINGCODOOM(implementing into Doom Nemesis Mod)

Postby Ozymandias81 » Thu Apr 30, 2015 9:45 am

WARCHILD_89 wrote:...hopefully the player himself will also be a scpace fighter vehicle with a fitting model and third person view

Reaaaaallly interesting hacks here, this seems to be something truly neat IMHO.
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Github ID: Ozymandias81
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: WINGCODOOM(implementing into Doom Nemesis Mod)

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Fri May 01, 2015 10:48 am

I did it.

TheZombieKiller has coded a real awesome mod for 3rd person viewcam. I managed toggling between 1rst and 3rd person and now i will start up a space fight ! wooohooo !!!!!!!
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Next

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Deimos Anomaly and 7 guests