WINGCODOOM(DEMO VIDEO AVAILABLE!)
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
WINGCODOOM(DEMO VIDEO AVAILABLE!)
I always loved playing wing commander on the Amiga 1200 when I was a little boy and today I think: "WOW, this game does not seem to be technically too different from ZDoom, so why not mix it together?"
I was very sad to read on the internet, that EA Games did never keep the source code (officially it has got lost when Origin Interactive quit its business ) so instead of getting the source code by decoding the exe, why not rather redo the game from scratch?
So here we go: For testing purposes, I made a huge map with a test skybox all around, the whole map is covered by an invisible 3d Water Floor. I never made any custom HUDs, so I currently made the spaceship cockpit to be a weapon (silly )
I use a selfmade little script to avoid the player from drowning and the Fly cheat to make the flight more realistic and to avoid the "weapon" to bob around, I can already fire Rockets and Plasma balls towards cacodemons, which I think could be recoded to act like enemy spaceships. (Original sprites from Wing Commander can be found on the internet)
So because I am a rookie in coding, any help is welcome
I was very sad to read on the internet, that EA Games did never keep the source code (officially it has got lost when Origin Interactive quit its business ) so instead of getting the source code by decoding the exe, why not rather redo the game from scratch?
So here we go: For testing purposes, I made a huge map with a test skybox all around, the whole map is covered by an invisible 3d Water Floor. I never made any custom HUDs, so I currently made the spaceship cockpit to be a weapon (silly )
I use a selfmade little script to avoid the player from drowning and the Fly cheat to make the flight more realistic and to avoid the "weapon" to bob around, I can already fire Rockets and Plasma balls towards cacodemons, which I think could be recoded to act like enemy spaceships. (Original sprites from Wing Commander can be found on the internet)
So because I am a rookie in coding, any help is welcome
Last edited by WARCHILD_89 on Sat May 02, 2015 2:19 pm, edited 3 times in total.
-
- Posts: 94
- Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 9:21 pm
Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)
OMFG someone finally is making a ship mod for DOOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gl33V3fh7k0
k. gud luk sry 4 shitpost kthxbye
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gl33V3fh7k0
k. gud luk sry 4 shitpost kthxbye
-
- Posts: 564
- Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 12:06 pm
- Location: Stranded on Lh'owon
Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)
Would you be interested in a skybox like this?
Spoiler:Of course, it may be too hdz for this project.
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)
yeah that skybox looks pretty damn cool ! Mine is just one picture I would need to find a Texture that fills really the whole skybox since I realized that the Skybox Viewpoint camera is looking all-around itself and not only in one direction....
And then to make the edges and corners somehow invisible to the eye. As you see, my skybox is actually looking like a BOX. and not like space..... The Box would need to be a sphere, but how to make a skysphere instead of a skybox? ....
Or i just made it terribly wrong....
And then to make the edges and corners somehow invisible to the eye. As you see, my skybox is actually looking like a BOX. and not like space..... The Box would need to be a sphere, but how to make a skysphere instead of a skybox? ....
Or i just made it terribly wrong....
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)
@Bitterman: the video was funny anyway
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Re: WINGCODOOM(Wing Commander goes ZDoom?)
Announcement:
This Project will be part of my Doom Nemesis Project.
Doom Nemesis will start this way:
After surviving Doom and Doom 2, our Doomguy gets found on earth by a huge spaceship controlled by an alliance of former UAC Members and the remains of earths army. Some flying Monsters are able to survive in space and Approach the spaceship. You will have to fight inside the ship, repair and defend the ship from the outside and everything will end up in a big space combat before getting crushed and falling all the way down back to earth.
So you see I have already an idea for a prologue to Doom Nemesis =)
wish me good luck in coding this, there has to be some ACS scripts...
This Project will be part of my Doom Nemesis Project.
Doom Nemesis will start this way:
After surviving Doom and Doom 2, our Doomguy gets found on earth by a huge spaceship controlled by an alliance of former UAC Members and the remains of earths army. Some flying Monsters are able to survive in space and Approach the spaceship. You will have to fight inside the ship, repair and defend the ship from the outside and everything will end up in a big space combat before getting crushed and falling all the way down back to earth.
So you see I have already an idea for a prologue to Doom Nemesis =)
wish me good luck in coding this, there has to be some ACS scripts...
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)
Does anyone know how to scale the cockpit sprite according to the screen resolution???
-
- Posts: 1560
- Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:36 pm
Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)
I think you could use an ACS script like this oneWARCHILD_89 wrote:Does anyone know how to scale the cockpit sprite according to the screen resolution???
Code: Select all
#library "any_name_here.txt" //note that the name is irrelevant but if you have lots of scripts you should use a name that will help you remember what it does
#include "zcommon.acs"
#define Image_name_here 1
str image_string = "Image_name_here";
Script "any_name_here" (VOID)
{
SetHudSize(640,480,0); // your resolution here - preferably with the same size as the image you want to use as HUD
SetFont(CHUD); // this line set the image_string(can be any name BTW) to be used as font
// The next line is to display the image as HUD by the mean of HUDMESSAGE, the 'A' is replaced by the image you have defined earlier
HudMessage(c:'A'; HUDMSG_PLAIN | HUDMSG_ALPHA, 128, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 320.0, 240.0, 0, 0.4);
// The delay line is to prevent the script runaway error
delay(1);
}
Code: Select all
#define F_RADAR_SIZE 12 // this means F_RADAR_SIZE is composed of 12 elements that should be all in the string(str F_RADAR)
str F_RADAR[F_RADAR_SIZE] =
{"RADAR1", "RSAFEZ", "RSAFEZ1", "RSAFEZ2", "RSAFEZ3", "RSAFEZ4",
"RSAFEZ5", "RSAFEZ6", "RSAFEZ7", "RSAFEZ8", "RSAFEZ9", "RSAFEZA"};
Script 868 (VOID)
{
int atic = 0;
int MRadarC = CheckInventory("MRadarOn");
while(MRadarC == 1) // Escape if gone!
{
SetHudSize(640,480,0);
SetFont(F_RADAR[atic]);
HudMessage(c:'A'; HUDMSG_PLAIN | HUDMSG_ALPHA, 128, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 320.0, 360.0, 0, 0.2);
if(atic == 0) // Special case for first/last frames
delay(8);
else if(atic == F_RADAR_SIZE - 1)
delay(10);
else
delay(1);
atic++;
atic %= F_RADAR_SIZE;
}
}
Code: Select all
#library "MyNewHUD.txt"
#include "zcommon.acs"
#define MyHUD 1
str HUD2 = " MyHUD";
Script "MyNewHUD" (VOID)
{
SetHudSize(640,480,0);
SetFont(HUD2);
HudMessage(c:'A'; HUDMSG_PLAIN | HUDMSG_ALPHA, 128, CR_UNTRANSLATED, 320.0, 240.0, 0, 0.4);
delay(1);
}
it should work since it's working well on one of the mods i'm working on
Ho and the image i used in my mod is a 4:3 ratio (resolution of 640x480) and i had to adjust the location at 320.0(x), 240.0(y) to make it display properly so my guess is you will probably have to do the same .
EDIT : I forgot to say something REALLY important. (VOID) script needs to be called by an actor so if you have a script for the player you can call the ACS there or you can just replace the (VOID) by ENTER and the script will execute at the beginning of all maps. Also add a loadacs.txt with the name of your script inside so zdoom will load it instead of ignoring it. One more thing, the ACS script needs to be compiled with Slade 3 (or any other programs capable of compiling ACS) I know it might sounds complicated but it's not. If you need help let me know. I'll do whatever i can to help you.
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)
I see, well at the moment it is defined as a non-bobbing weapon that fires missiles and laser shots hahaha
Thanks for your help I will try this as soon as I can. My resolution is 1920x1080 and I will use it only in one map by the way (Defending Mothership in space before getting hit and taking the story further on the surface of earth)
If this works, the classic wing commander as I know it from the amiga OS could be rebuilt into GZDOOM maybe in future projects....
Thanks for your help I will try this as soon as I can. My resolution is 1920x1080 and I will use it only in one map by the way (Defending Mothership in space before getting hit and taking the story further on the surface of earth)
If this works, the classic wing commander as I know it from the amiga OS could be rebuilt into GZDOOM maybe in future projects....
-
- Posts: 2067
- Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:01 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)
You may find some interesting models here...
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)
Ozymandias81 wrote:You may find some interesting models here...
AWESOME !
unfortunately I have only enough skills to create standard 2D Actors out of this. I have never learned to work with 3d models ....
I barely started understanding how I make VOxel objects work....
-
- Posts: 2067
- Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:01 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Re: WINGCODOOM(QUESTION)
It's awful easy to use models... just take a look to [wiki]MODELDEF[/wiki] definitions, then compare them with Paranoid TC or Gore (eh eh eh, advertisingadvertisingadvertising)...
Unfortunately, these Wing Commander models are in 3DS Max format, so you'll need Blender or MilkShape 3d to convert them in mdl/md2/md3 files...
Unfortunately, these Wing Commander models are in 3DS Max format, so you'll need Blender or MilkShape 3d to convert them in mdl/md2/md3 files...
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Re: WINGCODOOM(implementing into Doom Nemesis Mod)
Going to use the idea of flying through space and killing monsters for a short episode scenario of mine in Doom Nemesis. So you will have to escort the fleeing remains of humanity from the space station towards earth´s surface and beware them from attacking monsters within space itself. Transporters are already flying MD2 models and I already use them in an animation on my title map, hopefully the player himself will also be a scpace fighter vehicle with a fitting model and third person view
-
- Posts: 2067
- Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:01 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Re: WINGCODOOM(implementing into Doom Nemesis Mod)
Reaaaaallly interesting hacks here, this seems to be something truly neat IMHO.WARCHILD_89 wrote:...hopefully the player himself will also be a scpace fighter vehicle with a fitting model and third person view
-
- Posts: 452
- Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:27 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MIA between doomed dimensions
Re: WINGCODOOM(implementing into Doom Nemesis Mod)
I did it.
TheZombieKiller has coded a real awesome mod for 3rd person viewcam. I managed toggling between 1rst and 3rd person and now i will start up a space fight ! wooohooo !!!!!!!
TheZombieKiller has coded a real awesome mod for 3rd person viewcam. I managed toggling between 1rst and 3rd person and now i will start up a space fight ! wooohooo !!!!!!!