[WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17322
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Nash »

Yeah there were no changes to the actual model, just that the MODELDEF needs to be updated to apply compensation for the scaling.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

TNT is now fully implemented. It'll be in the next version that comes out.

I have no recording software on my PC at the moment, and I was in a rush, so I just recorded it with an iPod camera.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16830
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Captain J »

now more explosions on that tnt would be nice, also i hope there's another way to ignite it, flint 'n rocks or fire based weapons, etc. it could be exploded when touched it for a mistake.
User avatar
Lisac_the_fox
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:22 am
Location: In front of hell, looking down into the deep red abyss.

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Lisac_the_fox »

I read your advice and crafted some new voxels. Look for them in given folder!
PS:I used some minecraft texture packs by GPL v2 just to know.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

Captain J wrote:now more explosions on that tnt would be nice
Yeah, I still gotta add in particle effects. TNT also explodes straight away if ignited by other TNT, rather than having the pause while the fuse burns.
Captain J wrote:also i hope there's another way to ignite it, flint 'n rocks or fire based weapons, etc. it could be exploded when touched it for a mistake.
It can also be ignited by an object that's sorta like a redstone torch. I'm gonna remove the "touch to explode" thing soon, I just had it that way to test it.
Lisac_the_fox wrote:I read your advice and crafted some new voxels. Look for them in given folder!
PS:I used some minecraft texture packs by GPL v2 just to know.
I'm not sure where they've been uploaded, did you forget to paste the link or something?
User avatar
Lisac_the_fox
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:22 am
Location: In front of hell, looking down into the deep red abyss.

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Lisac_the_fox »

User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

@Lisac_the_fox
Thanks, I'll add 'em in once I have some more blocks implemented, since it takes a bit more work to get a voxel working for its own block than it does for a regular model.

Updates
I've changed how some of the code works, now for a block to be correctly placed in a map, you can just place the block actor directly. No need for stupid "spawner" actors any more.
I've added the "smoke" effect from Minecraft to the TNT.
If a TNT is "ignited" by an explosion, then it will explode straight away, rather than waiting for the fuse

Now let's see if I can get some sort of map generation working. Dear Jesus this'll be a load of fun... not...
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »


Showing off the changes made to the TNT
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
Posts: 1528
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:06 am
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by The Zombie Killer »

DAYUM, third post in a row. It seems that terrain generation isn't really gonna be a thing. I'm not even sure if I'll continue this mod any more.
Why? HUGE performance issues.

Attached is the latest release (minus a few small things that I'm redoing), choose "Generate Map" from the menu, and make a rather large flat map.
The performance and your computer will die.

EDIT: By the way, to use TNT (and get 64 of it in your inventory), type in the following console commands:

Code: Select all

give tnt_item 64
sv_blocktype tnt
To change back to cobblestone (and get 64 of it in your inventory), type this in the console:

Code: Select all

give cobblestone_item 64
sv_blocktype cobblestone
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16830
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Captain J »

getting great so far, but still tnt's explosion is not enough to compared with original minecraft, it had more explosions also smokes. add more A_custommissile or A_Debris, maybe?

also are you going to add some block's sound in next update?
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17322
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Nash »

As has been discovered, this is unfortunately unplayable. :(
User avatar
Lisac_the_fox
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:22 am
Location: In front of hell, looking down into the deep red abyss.

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Lisac_the_fox »

The Zombie Killer wrote:@Lisac_the_fox
Thanks, I'll add 'em in once I have some more blocks implemented, since it takes a bit more work to get a voxel working for its own block than it does for a regular model.
No welcome, i will make more of them!
Edit: Can you please make the Zandronum version? And just ask if you need some specific block.
User avatar
Lisac_the_fox
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:22 am
Location: In front of hell, looking down into the deep red abyss.

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Lisac_the_fox »

Is this project dead?
Blue Shadow
Posts: 4906
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:59 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Blue Shadow »

Lisac_the_fox wrote:Is this project dead?
It could be...
The Zombie Killer wrote:It seems that terrain generation isn't really gonna be a thing. I'm not even sure if I'll continue this mod any more.
Why? HUGE performance issues.
User avatar
Lisac_the_fox
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:22 am
Location: In front of hell, looking down into the deep red abyss.

Re: [WIP] DoomCraft - Minecraft in ZDoom!

Post by Lisac_the_fox »

The Zombie Killer wrote:It seems that terrain generation isn't really gonna be a thing. I'm not even sure if I'll continue this mod any more.
Why? HUGE performance issues.
You can make pre-generated terrain, like a static map.

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”