Mayhem Mansion (V1.40) Even more fixes, huzzah!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Captain J
 
 
Posts: 16822
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:20 am
Location: A Year old Pizza Box

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.3) -- Pretty much finished!

Post by Captain J »

QuakedoomNukem Cz wrote:Finally done uploading those errors and if that problem by seeing stuff through ceiling is actual zdoom bug, i can understand: http://ultimateretrogamer9000quakedoomn ... rd_party=1
you know, if you set the albums or images private, you better make it visible for public!
User avatar
QuakedoomNukem Cz
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:27 am
Location: Smržovka; Czech Republic

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.3) -- Pretty much finished!

Post by QuakedoomNukem Cz »

I think it automatically threw those images in private, but album was made and it's working now: http://imgur.com/a/ypaTU
User avatar
Darsycho
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 1:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: Jackassia

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.3) -- Pretty much finished!

Post by Darsycho »

Can't fix objects appearing through the ceiling/3d floors, AFAIK it's a software renderer bug or limitation.

Also, those aren't missing textures, it's intentional.
User avatar
QuakedoomNukem Cz
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:27 am
Location: Smržovka; Czech Republic

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.3) -- Pretty much finished!

Post by QuakedoomNukem Cz »

I already responded for that bug with stuff appearing through ceiling, but thank you for telling me about that stuff, that looked like it had missing textures.
ImpieTwo
Posts: 912
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:52 pm

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.3) -- Pretty much finished!

Post by ImpieTwo »

Alpha emblem doesn't add to inventory when picked up, which makes the mod unbeatable. I can pick up the other two with no problems.

Assuming nobody reported this already.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 1:18 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.3) -- Pretty much finished!

Post by Ed the Bat »

I am unable to replicate the problem. I picked up the alpha emblem with no problems.
User avatar
Darsycho
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 1:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: Jackassia

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.3) -- Pretty much finished!

Post by Darsycho »

What version of gzdoom/zdoom are you using? Not sure if having a certain version would really do anything, but just in case.
Try one of these and see if it does anything:
http://devbuilds.drdteam.org/zdoom/

It works for me as well, just tried with zdoom-2.9pre-952-gfe96691.
User avatar
Darsycho
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 1:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: Jackassia

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.3) -- Pretty much finished!

Post by Darsycho »

It's now on /idgames!

https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/level ... o/mayhemm4

File name was changed because it couldn't be more than 8 characters. Ah well.
Last edited by Darsycho on Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
MSPaintR0cks
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 2:47 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.4) -- Now on /idgames

Post by MSPaintR0cks »

I remember playing this in 2013, and I still remember many things about it vividly. :D
Loved all that weirdness, and I always kept playing to see what other strange stuff would come up.
Gonna try the new version this weekend :D
User avatar
EksFaktr
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.4) -- Now on /idgames

Post by EksFaktr »

I love seeing imaginative stuff like this for Doom. It really shows not just how many different kinds of people the community brings in, but also how creative all of the people are who work with the engine.

Thanks for your wonderful work, Darsycho. :)
User avatar
QuakedoomNukem Cz
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:27 am
Location: Smržovka; Czech Republic

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.4) -- Now on /idgames

Post by QuakedoomNukem Cz »

This, i can surely call a bug/error:
When using IDFA to check weaponry of this mod, i still can choose RL, PR and BFG, so it's not normal to have it there, or try something like ,,sv_cheats false'' or something like that.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21500
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.4) -- Now on /idgames

Post by wildweasel »

QuakedoomNukem Cz wrote:This, i can surely call a bug/error:
When using IDFA to check weaponry of this mod, i still can choose RL, PR and BFG, so it's not normal to have it there, or try something like ,,sv_cheats false'' or something like that.
It could just be that those guns have no equivalent in the mod. Don't do that?
User avatar
Ed the Bat
Posts: 3060
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 1:18 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.4) -- Now on /idgames

Post by Ed the Bat »

This could be fixed by either having some actor (any actor, really) replace those weapons, such as:

Code: Select all

ACTOR NothingAtAll replaces RocketLauncher{}
and they won't be given by cheats...
Or, the playerclass can be given the following:

Code: Select all

	Player.Weaponslot 5,""
	Player.Weaponslot 6,""
	Player.Weaponslot 7,""
Lukario
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 12:47 pm

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.4) -- Now on /idgames

Post by Lukario »

The game closes itself shortly after I open the door to the room where you first encounter the flying eyeballs. No error message or anything, it just closes itself.

I'm using GZDoom g2.1.1 if that makes any difference.
User avatar
Darsycho
Posts: 798
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 1:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: Jackassia

Re: Mayhem Mansion (V0.4) -- Now on /idgames

Post by Darsycho »

QuakedoomNukem Cz wrote:This, i can surely call a bug/error:
When using IDFA to check weaponry of this mod, i still can choose RL, PR and BFG, so it's not normal to have it there, or try something like ,,sv_cheats false'' or something like that.
Given that you can only do that with cheats, I think I'll leave it. Because cheats. =P
Lukario wrote:The game closes itself shortly after I open the door to the room where you first encounter the flying eyeballs. No error message or anything, it just closes itself.

I'm using GZDoom g2.1.1 if that makes any difference.
Can't say for sure, I can't run any gzdoom versions past 2.0.


...Anyhow, I just got done watching seriouscacodemon's stream of mayhem mansion and noticed more bugs, level 3 being the most confusing and super glitchy, apparently was not entirely fixed. There are some sequence breaks and shit still possible, so stay tuned for v0.5!

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”