Page 4 of 55

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:51 am
by Batandy
GooberMan wrote:Yes, like the "Unable to open LEVEL01" error I get every time I leave the first map.

One little quibble I have is that the revolver doesn't check its reload at the end of a shot, but at the beginning. Which means that I have to wait for a reload animation if I have nothing in the chamber and run face-first in to an imp.

But yeah, not bad so far.

Wierd, i've never had such error, nor my other testers, what sourceport are you using? I've tested the game with gzdoom and zandronum

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:07 am
by Captain Ventris
The platforming is, as expected with Doom, fiddly, and can get frustrating. I suggest screwing with Doomguy's jump height and friction to make it feel better, and so you can actually stick to platforms.

There are some jitters in the giant coin animation, and you can often just stand outside of the 'piranha plants' range, making them a bullet-soaking obstacle at times instead of a proper threat.

In Vanilla Hills, the decorative rainbow bridges seem like you should be able to walk on them, due to the rainbow water you can swim in, so that confused me. Several visual indicators, the rainbow 'bridges' included, seemed to indicate that you could get to the outer ring of the level, which was in fact only decorative.

The puzzle level was made overly difficult due simply to the fact that the rockets have splash damage. There was one part where I was standing on the correct platform, and got thrown off simply due to the splash of the rockets hitting the neighboring platforms. It's a factor out of the player's control, and doesn't reward a successful dodge.

Nonetheless, this shows real promise so long as you work hard at making the platforming parts rewarding and not frustrating, and work out the minor stuff. I enjoyed the quick, yet not-standard gunplay.

EDIT: I also, on GZDoom, got the Level01 error. Even using the Map command, it seemed to not exist.

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:31 am
by GooberMan
Yep. GZDoom 1.7.0 here. I can't find any reference to LEVEL01 in your MAPINFO, but the map name is "The Earth Base" according to the intermission screen if that means anything.

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:42 am
by Batandy
GooberMan wrote:Yep. GZDoom 1.7.0 here. I can't find any reference to LEVEL01 in your MAPINFO, but the map name is "The Earth Base" according to the intermission screen if that means anything.


The Earth Base is the first level of "No Rest for the Living", it's really wierd...Are you playing with the Doom 3 BFG edition of doom? Else, something in the latest version of gzdoom must be screwed. I've tested the mod with an older version of gzdoom and it never gave me this problem

Captain Ventris wrote:The platforming is, as expected with Doom, fiddly, and can get frustrating. I suggest screwing with Doomguy's jump height and friction to make it feel better, and so you can actually stick to platforms. *And other stuff*


I've noticed that something's different between the jumping on gzdoom and the jumping on zandronum, in gzdoom it looks like you get "slowed down" when you jump, while in zandronum, you keep the same friction, that makes it way easier to control your player on these maps.
Since i've mapped and tested the mod mostly on Zandronum, i'd recommend to play the mod on it instead of Gzdoom, while i try to fix this issue

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:45 am
by GooberMan
Batandy wrote:Are you playing with the Doom 3 BFG edition of doom?

I do not own the BFG edition.

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:01 pm
by Matt
I'm getting the same problem running GZDoom with DOOM2.WAD.

I just looked inside the wad files and can't find anything that would cause this bug, but I'm not a mapper so I've probably missed something.

(the way you handle the ladder is genius btw)

One suggestion: allow the player to jump onto the pool table in the main hub. It seems very artificial to prevent the player from doing that and gives the wrong impression about what to expect in actual play.

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:27 pm
by Batandy
Vaecrius wrote:I'm getting the same problem running GZDoom with DOOM2.WAD.

I just looked inside the wad files and can't find anything that would cause this bug, but I'm not a mapper so I've probably missed something.

(the way you handle the ladder is genius btw)

One suggestion: allow the player to jump onto the pool table in the main hub. It seems very artificial to prevent the player from doing that and gives the wrong impression about what to expect in actual play.


Hmm, i think you're right, i made that pool table in an early development stage, when i still had to plan the room and the other stuff, it's time to remove those "block player" lines.

And, about that bug, i don't think it's related on something i did, i've never called one of these levels "LEVEL01" and i didn't copy the code from no rest for the living. My best advice right now is to play the mod on Zandronum, it work perfectly with that sourceport

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:41 pm
by Ed the Bat
I'll take some time to investigate it for you, but off the bat, my suspicion is that trying to teleport to Map 0 is confusing the engine, since I don't believe you intended for it to go to an intermission screen once the Golden Soul was collected.

I'll report back if I find any more useful information.

Yep, that seems to be it.
Changing this:
Code: Select allExpand view
Teleport_NewMap (0, 1, 0);

...to this:
Code: Select allExpand view
ChangeLevel("MAP00",1,0,CHANGELEVEL_NOINTERMISSION);

Got things working for me.

Does Zandronum support that ACS command? If so, you should be golden (no pun intended).

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:46 pm
by XutaWoo
Batandy wrote:I've noticed that something's different between the jumping on gzdoom and the jumping on zandronum, in gzdoom it looks like you get "slowed down" when you jump, while in zandronum, you keep the same friction, that makes it way easier to control your player on these maps.
Since i've mapped and tested the mod mostly on Zandronum, i'd recommend to play the mod on it instead of Gzdoom, while i try to fix this issue

A thing here is that while Zandronum can do ZDoom jump physics, the reverse isn't true.

So unless you were planning on using aircontrol (which doesn't work with Zandronum physics), you might want to cut you losses on making it ZDoom compatible since the discrepancy between the two jump physics will make precision platforming impossible.

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:11 pm
by Batandy
XutaWoo wrote:
Batandy wrote:I've noticed that something's different between the jumping on gzdoom and the jumping on zandronum, in gzdoom it looks like you get "slowed down" when you jump, while in zandronum, you keep the same friction, that makes it way easier to control your player on these maps.
Since i've mapped and tested the mod mostly on Zandronum, i'd recommend to play the mod on it instead of Gzdoom, while i try to fix this issue

A thing here is that while Zandronum can do ZDoom jump physics, the reverse isn't true.

So unless you were planning on using aircontrol (which doesn't work with Zandronum physics), you might want to cut you losses on making it ZDoom compatible since the discrepancy between the two jump physics will make precision platforming impossible.


I don't want to make it Zdoom compatible honestly, because the mod requires the OpenGL render,and i prefer to develop it on Zandronum since there's the possibility of making it multiplayer-compatible.
I'll do my best to make the jumping sections work on both sourceports, afterall, i'm not making a jumpmaze mod

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:14 pm
by Ed the Bat
Batandy wrote:I don't want to make it Zdoom compatible honestly, because the mod requires the OpenGL render,and i prefer to develop it on Zandronum since there's the possibility of making it multiplayer-compatible.
I'll do my best to make the jumping sections work on both sourceports, afterall, i'm not making a jumpmaze mod

ZDoom can use an OpenGL renderer. It's called GZDoom. :P
And maybe there's just something wrong in my brain, but I find the GL renderer in Zandronum really hurts my eyes, wheras GZDoom doesn't. Zandronum just looks all fuzzy and desaturated to me, somehow...

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:38 pm
by Princess Viscra Maelstrom
i "think" it might be because Zandronum doesn't have any filter set on by default? in GZDoom, there's a number of filters you can turn on, which makes the game not as grainy and pixelly, which works fine in software, but not in Open GL. not sure if Zandronum does have such options or not, though.

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:42 pm
by Ed the Bat
I actually find GZDoom's filters to be nauseating. I much prefer the game to be pixelated. Not saying you're on the wrong track here, but my gut tells me the issue lies elsewhere. I did hear once that Skulltag (and I suppose by extension Zandronum) is forced to use an outdated GL renderer, due to some kind of legal stipulation.

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:14 pm
by Scripten
The new rendering shader in GZdoom makes it look much nicer than the default settings. I think it's called "software" IIRC.

Re: DooM : The Golden Souls [Beta Released]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:22 pm
by Pisstepank
I get this error when i spawn in Vanilla Hills. :c
Spoiler: