[WIP] NC HUD v1.32 - April 2nd, 2017

For high-res texture/sprite projects, sprite-fix patches, music add-ons, music randomizers, and other graphic/sound-only projects.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

[WIP] NC HUD v1.32 - April 2nd, 2017

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:25 pm

NC HUD: v1.32 - April 2nd, 2017

What's new/changed in this version

  • Enemy health bar: added the option to display the max health.
  • The HUD Options menu is no longer redefined in order to integrate the HUD's own menu. The menu is merely added. This means that the nchud-menu.pk3 file is no longer needed.

Optional patches

  • HUD's Original Icons (nchud-icons.pk3): Restores the HUD's original icons for armor and ammo.
  • Patch Template (nchud-template.pk3): A template from which compatibility patches could be created.

Compatibility patches

    (Patches which are not linked to are included in the main HUD package)

Old patches

    These patches are not compatible with the latest version of the HUD.
    Compatible with v1.31
    Compatible with v1.22

Stand-alone versions

    These are modifications of the HUD which are created and maintained by other members of the community for their favorite mods.

Important notes (Last updated on April 2nd, 2017)

  • The HUD requires at least version 2.4.0 of GZDoom.
  • It does not work with ZDoom and never will be.
  • It does not work with Zandronum, currently, as it does not have the necessary features.
  • It will only work "out of the box" with projects that do not alter the player's arsenal. Modification of the HUD, or creation of compatibility patches is necessary if you want custom weapons and ammo to work with it.

Additional patch-related notes (Last updated on September 19th, 2016)

  • Do not request patches. The ones I will be making are only for mods that I am interested in.
  • The patches above assume that you are using unmodified versions of the respective mods. Typically, the patches should work with modified versions of the mods as long as the class names of the weapons and their associated ammo types are left untouched.
  • The main HUD (nchud-main.pk3) is required for the patches to work. Make sure it is loaded before the patch files, and after any other mods, e.g.,
    <mod> nchud-main.pk3 <patch>.
  • The icons patch (nchud-icons.pk3) is meant to be used with the main HUD alone if one so desires. Do not mix it with the other patches.
  • If you want to submit a patch, then feel free to do so, and I shall add it above to the list of patches. Do note, however, that I will not maintain those patches submitted by others. It is the submitter's job to keep their patches up to date and working.

"May I use your HUD in my mod, Blue Shadow?"

    I seem to be getting asked this often recently. The answer to that question is: Yes, you may.

Spoiler: Screenshot
Spoiler: Previous versions
Spoiler: Original post
Last edited by Blue Shadow on Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:17 am, edited 58 times in total.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Slax » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:38 pm

Still room to show all of your reserve ammo over the ammo counter. Hint hint. ;)
EDIT: Just a personal preference. Can't stand huds without it.
Last edited by Slax on Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Slax
Saucy.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Location: Window office.

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:40 pm

This is a very very nice HUD, exactly what I was looking for.

Some suggestions would be for the ammo counter to also display the max amount as well as the current. and for the HUD to work when "hud_scale" is set to true which right now makes it look messed up
User avatar
Xtyfe
Neque Deos, Neque Dominos
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: The Intertubes

Re: A custom HUD

Postby SFJake » Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:29 pm

Like the simplicity of it.

I think Health could use never being blue. I like that it changes color when it gets lower, and it fits better. But then it goes up and gets blue, like the rest of the screen. Thats not ideal, in my opinion.

Plus, I'm not sure I see the need for the weapon numbers, and I'd rather be able to see how much ammo I have.

Really like the overall look.
User avatar
SFJake
 
Joined: 03 Nov 2007

Re: A custom HUD

Postby wildweasel » Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:41 pm

Blue Shadow wrote:Note: Due to some issues I ran into, which I couldn't find a solution for (yet), the HUD replaces the normal status bar and not the fullscreen one.

What sort of issues? As far as I can tell, you should be able to just use "statusbar normal, fullscreenoffsets" to make that work...
User avatar
wildweasel
Your Toast is Mine.
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Netherpost (the 11th Circle of Post Hell)

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xaser » Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:50 pm

Ack. Yeah, this should definitely be replacing the fullscreen bar. I currently get this:

Image

This definitely looks great from the screenshot, though! Simple, yet attractive. Hopefully the issue is worked out soonish.
User avatar
Xaser
autodefenestrator
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: A custom HUD

Postby wildweasel » Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:52 pm

You could also set the statusbar's Resolution to a number like 800x600, so that even if a user has HUD_SCALE turned on, it'll only scale up to that.
User avatar
wildweasel
Your Toast is Mine.
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Netherpost (the 11th Circle of Post Hell)

Re: A custom HUD

Postby DTDsphere » Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:57 pm

wildweasel wrote:You could also set the statusbar's Resolution to a number like 800x600, so that even if a user has HUD_SCALE turned on, it'll only scale up to that.

Yes please.
User avatar
DTDsphere
 
Joined: 16 Jun 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:35 pm

SFJake wrote:I think Health could use never being blue. I like that it changes color when it gets lower, and it fits better. But then it goes up and gets blue, like the rest of the screen. Thats not ideal, in my opinion.

I appreciate your opinion, but it won't change, sorry. I'd like to keep some consistency with the other bars colors (armor and ammo) as blue being the "normal" color. Turning the health bar to yellow and red is special case.

Plus, I'm not sure I see the need for the weapon numbers, and I'd rather be able to see how much ammo I have.

I thought about not including the arms (weapon numbers), but sometimes I wish I had a way of knowing if I already have weapon x and weapon y. I could try and press the keys on my keyboard to see, however, with the arms dispaly, all I need is a quick glance on the right.

This of course applies to the "reserve" ammo display. That's why I'm gonna try and include it.

wildweasel wrote:What sort of issues?

Well, they're more of annoyences really; one is related to the inventory bar, which I think I've found a solution for (I haven't tried it yet) and the other is the mugshot.

Since I'm using the fullscreenoffsets flag, merely adding the mugshot won't work well, since it'll be too small for the HUD. That's why I scaled it up 200% with the use of TEXTURES. It worked well for the HUD but not that well for the standard Doom status bar. I tried "defining" a new separate mugshot to use specially for the HUD, alas I seem to have failed. So, that's why I did what I did, because I'd rather have it replace Doom's standard statusbar than have a "broken" one.

Long story short; if I want the HUD to replace ZDoom's fullscreen HUD, then I'd like to keep Doom's standard status bar intact and unaffected by any changes I could or might have done to my HUD (like the mugshot case above).

For the hud_scale issue and as per wildweasel solution, I used the resolution command and it doesn't seem to affect wherther you've hud_scale on or off, which is what we want. However, I used 640x400 and not 800x600, as the results didn't turn out quite well with the latter.

First post updated to hopefully fix this issue. Could someone test this and see if it works for them as well, please.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jun 11, 2012 8:27 pm

much better, works with hud_scale now :D except the inventory bar is not scaled still
User avatar
Xtyfe
Neque Deos, Neque Dominos
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: The Intertubes

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:32 pm

Fixing the hud_scale issue missed up the offest of the inventory bar*. Also, the inventory bar doesn't seem to be affected by hud_scale unlike the rest of the HUD. :?

Man! I never realised how buggy this thing actually is when I uploaded it. It's all because of this hud scale thing. If I knew it would be such an issue, I would have refrained from uploading it.

Anyway, first post is updated with another hotfix. Is it any better?

* It also missed up Doom's standard statusbar. So, forget what I said about keeping Doom's standard status bar intact and having this HUD replace ZDoom's fullscreen HUD. It's gonna stay as it's.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:19 pm

Yep, its aligned now
User avatar
Xtyfe
Neque Deos, Neque Dominos
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: The Intertubes

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Pachira » Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:53 am

I get an error when I try to play with this in Skulltag.
Code: Select allExpand view
Script error, "nc_custom_hud_v03.pk3:sbarinfo.txt" line 3:
Bad syntax.
User avatar
Pachira
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Location: UAAF Mars

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Nash » Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 am

This is a nice custom HUD. If you get the fullscreen version sorted out, I hope you scale down the graphics so it's smaller. Also, shouldn't the ammo icon change depending on the current weapon selected? Currently all weapons use the shotgun shell icon.
User avatar
Nash
Nash Muhandes [Audio Engineer | Game Designer | Scripting]
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: A custom HUD

Postby XutaWoo » Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:07 am

Pachira wrote:Skulltag.

There's your problem.
User avatar
XutaWoo
one day when going to see the rabbit, there was a previous visitor ...
 
Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Location: beautiful hills of those who are friends

Next

Return to Graphic/Sound Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Shadez12 and 0 guests