Powerslave 2 [some guy bumped this]

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.
User avatar
Sgt Dopey
Posts: 558
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:44 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Australia

Powerslave 2 [some guy bumped this]

Post by Sgt Dopey »

This project is a Total Conversion of the game Powerslave/Exhumed into GZDooM and Skulltag
I Have done almost all of the props and have done 3 weapons (Machete,Revolver,M-60) and one monster (Anubis Zombie)

This mod is NOT compatible with software mode due to the textures not being in the doom pallet

Screenshots
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/40 ... 10221.png/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/56 ... 10221.png/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/13 ... 10221.png/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/70 ... 10221.png/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/54 ... 10221.png/


I will require help with DECORATEing the monsters and help with ACS and Polyobjects and maybe some maps

latest Release
This is the latest release which is Alpha 2
Powerslave 2 Alpha 2.rar
Last edited by Sgt Dopey on Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:30 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21519
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Powerslave/Exhumed TC

Post by wildweasel »

Powerslave isn't that hard to run in Dosbox, so I'm not entirely sure that I see the point of this.
User avatar
Sgt Dopey
Posts: 558
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:44 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Australia

Re: Powerslave/Exhumed TC

Post by Sgt Dopey »

wildweasel wrote:Powerslave isn't that hard to run in Dosbox, so I'm not entirely sure that I see the point of this.
Its kind of going to be like the ROTT TC but with Powerslave Resources and new levels
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21519
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Powerslave/Exhumed TC

Post by wildweasel »

New levels? Okay, that somewhat justifies it. I was under the impression that you were just doing a 100% port, a la ZBlood.
User avatar
SamVision
Posts: 2424
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:47 pm
Location: Behind You

Re: Powerslave/Exhumed TC

Post by SamVision »

Name this something different so people won't think this is a Powerslave remake. ROTT TC was called Return of The Triad.
wildweasel wrote:Powerslave isn't that hard to run in Dosbox, so I'm not entirely sure that I see the point of this.
PowerSlave was pure garbage, so if someone is willing to make a ZDoom remake of it (which this guy is apparently not doing) I would welcome them to do so since that game had some good ideas.
User avatar
Sgt Dopey
Posts: 558
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:44 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Australia

Re: Powerslave/Exhumed TC

Post by Sgt Dopey »

SamVision wrote: PowerSlave was pure garbage, so if someone is willing to make a ZDoom remake of it (which this guy is apparently not doing) I would welcome them to do so since that game had some good ideas.
I am remaking it for GZDooM
User avatar
SamVision
Posts: 2424
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:47 pm
Location: Behind You

Re: ZPowerslave

Post by SamVision »

But you are making new levels, and I assume you are going to fix the game's awful issues.

BTW NMN made a set of over and under shotgun sprites that were drawn in the style of PowerSlave. In a few days I will try and upload them if you want to use them.
User avatar
Sgt Dopey
Posts: 558
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:44 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Australia

Re: ZPowerslave

Post by Sgt Dopey »

What were some of the games awful issues i only know of 2 the lighting and the AI of the Anubis Zombie
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21519
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: ZPowerslave

Post by wildweasel »

Well, the game's biggest flaw is automatically fixed simply by virtue of being in ZDoom - that of the game's awful checkpoint save system.
User avatar
Snarboo
Posts: 2598
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:37 am

Re: ZPowerslave

Post by Snarboo »

jaegerman45 wrote:This mod is NOT compatible with software mode due to the textures not being in the doom pallet
It's completely possible to convert Powerslave's palette to an appropriate PLAYPAL and COLORMAP lump for use with ZDoom's software renderer.

Also is this based more on the PC version or the console versions? Because there's a world of difference between the two.
Last edited by Snarboo on Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Sgt Dopey
Posts: 558
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 8:44 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Australia

Re: ZPowerslave

Post by Sgt Dopey »

Probably the PC version cause i have no idea how to do hubs
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21519
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: ZPowerslave

Post by wildweasel »

jaegerman45 wrote:Probably the PC version cause i have no idea how to do hubs
[wiki]MAPINFO#Cluster_definition[/wiki] and [wiki]Hub[/wiki] should help here.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13470
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: ZPowerslave

Post by Tormentor667 »

I like!
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: ZPowerslave

Post by Enjay »

Sounds good to me. I'm fairly sure I own (or perhaps I no longer have a copy) Powerslave but I think I gave up on it very early on due to it not being fun. A decent GZDoom TC that takes the good ideas and makes a playable game out of it would be most welcome.
User avatar
rsl
Posts: 286
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:28 am
Location: Meet me. On Instafsck!

Re: ZPowerslave

Post by rsl »

IMHO Powerslave had a great atmosphere, and well-designed levels. Its main problems (PC version) were the absence of a savegame system that rapidly led to frustration, and a control system that with today's mouselook (even ZDOOM-style) looks very out-of-date. Personally, I'd be eager to play this even if it was intended as a 1:1 remake of the original.

Return to “Abandoned/Dead Projects”