Action Doom 2 ReRelease

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Nash » Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:16 pm

I just play AD with its custom EXE because that's what it was probably designed around for.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Gez » Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:22 pm

I play with standard GZDoom, and I found out there are a few GZDoomism sometimes (like reflective floors at the Phylex building). Brawl.exe is ZDoom, and so doesn't render them as reflective.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Jimmy » Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:23 pm

The whole reflective floor effect is faked so it works in ZDoom. The entire room is remade upside down and then the two are joined as stacked sectors.
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Scuba Steve » Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:24 pm

Early in development, there WAS a map05... but it was removed because it didn't fit. It was modified later and added to the bonus features on the CD.

Also... please note, it says in the text that this is for ZDoom. GZDoom will not work properly, it may fix several rendering errors caused by the software engine... but it can't handle the dozens of hacks done that only work with software. If you do play this mod in gzdoom... use the software mode.
Last edited by Scuba Steve on Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Scuba Steve
 
Joined: 27 Mar 2004

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Captain Ventris » Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:26 pm

Scuba Steve wrote:Early in development, there WAS a map05... but it was removed because it didn't fit. It was modified later and added to the bonus features on the CD.


Ah, I was wondering about that! Awesome, guess I'll get so see it, then!
User avatar
Captain Ventris
Buy my novel, “The Shadow Among The Stars” on Amazon or Itch.io!
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Isle » Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:14 pm

Nash wrote:I just play AD with its custom EXE because that's what it was probably designed around for.

there is nothing special about the exe besides autoloading action2.wad
User avatar
Isle
WadAuthor 4 L1F3
 
Joined: 21 Nov 2003
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby przndoom » Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:45 pm

:S i thought everyone here played it and just talking about teh bugs

i spoiler tag the important thing..the other i thought since everyone played it and knows those endings by the previous post who disscussed it knew :S

well i just spoiler tag the whole thing there

BTW scuba Steve Is the
Spoiler:
on the bonus map?

im just wondering ..or is already in the free DL...
User avatar
przndoom
Release the hounds! Tally oh! Gentlemen, shall we proceed?
 
Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Location: Right behind you

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Kinsie » Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:54 am

How much would cheats mess with the scripts? I was messing around on the "good ending" path on god mode, and the Secret Elevator in the Top Floor level wouldn't work - the door to go through into the Hidden Fun Stuff wouldn't open no matter how many times I jammed on the button.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Scuba Steve » Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:00 am

The elevator in the top floor only goes one way. You can only ride it up... not down.
Scuba Steve
 
Joined: 27 Mar 2004

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby DoomGuy_100 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:48 am

On the farm scene, what are am I gonna do here? Am I gonna kill the sniper or what?
DoomGuy_100
 
Joined: 25 Aug 2008
Location: Liberty City

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Demolisher » Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:21 pm

You run from bale to bale.
Avoid getting shot, it does 50% damage.
User avatar
Demolisher
Princess Grincess
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Location: Winchester, VA
Github ID: DemolisherOfSouls
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby DoomGuy_100 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:25 pm

Demolisher wrote:You run from bale to bale.
Avoid getting shot, it does 50% damage.

But how long does it take to finish this scene? I don't like to go to that part where I have to rescue the Policeman and going to the damn building and get a bad ending
DoomGuy_100
 
Joined: 25 Aug 2008
Location: Liberty City

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Demolisher » Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:26 pm

Until you get to the top left corner exit.
User avatar
Demolisher
Princess Grincess
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Location: Winchester, VA
Github ID: DemolisherOfSouls
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby DoomGuy_100 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:28 pm

Demolisher wrote:Until you get to the top left corner exit.

does this give me a bad ending? Im new to this wad
DoomGuy_100
 
Joined: 25 Aug 2008
Location: Liberty City

Re: Action Doom 2 Bugs

Postby Demolisher » Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:31 pm

You just have to find out won't you... :whip:
User avatar
Demolisher
Princess Grincess
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Location: Winchester, VA
Github ID: DemolisherOfSouls
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests