Phocas Island 2: Re-Phocased. Is it back?

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Should I release endurance mode as a seperate mod or save it for final release?

Yes! I'd love to play endurance mode when it's ready
22
48%
No, I'll wait until the final release.
24
52%
 
Total votes : 46

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby Captain Ventris » Thu Jun 19, 2008 5:11 pm

chopkinsca wrote:
Captain Ventris wrote:SWEET, two more bosses!


And each one has it's own unique area. :)


Actually, one problem I have is thinking up puzzles to reach these bosses. So far, one is open with no puzzle, and the other requires a key. I can't think of where to place the puzzles, or what they could be. Maybe I'll come up with something.


You could always use the water idea, some sort of water-puzzle that involves not drowning yourself. XD
User avatar
Captain Ventris
Buy my novel, “The Shadow Among The Stars” on Amazon or Itch.io!
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby chopkinsca » Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:59 pm

Anybody want to contribute fish sprites? Any mid-size fish will do. If nobody wants to, I'll try to do it myself. I'm just feeling lazy today :P
User avatar
chopkinsca
Nothing
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2003

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby Phobus » Sat Jun 21, 2008 2:45 am

My water resource wad has a 32x24 sized fish in it... but I had intended to do a bigger one at one point. Just never got round to it. See if that's any good for you :)
User avatar
Phobus
Registered Occasional Lurker
 
Joined: 05 May 2005
Location: London

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby chopkinsca » Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:57 pm

Phobus wrote:My water resource wad has a 32x24 sized fish in it... but I had intended to do a bigger one at one point. Just never got round to it. See if that's any good for you :)


Where can I find your water resource wad? The size sounds good.

Edit: nevermind, I found it. I was thinking a more gentler looking fish, just for decoration. Unless I didn't find the most up to date version.
User avatar
chopkinsca
Nothing
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2003

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby Phobus » Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:55 am

No, the fish is designed as a low-level monster, so you've got the most up-to-date version. If you want decorative fish, I think LWM has a wad somewhere which had a school of fish which just swim around. Its the resources to one of her wads - but for the life of me I can't remember which wad it was. It had a big lance in it too I think.
User avatar
Phobus
Registered Occasional Lurker
 
Joined: 05 May 2005
Location: London

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby Cutmanmike » Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:44 am

M&M has a pretty good looking (but evil) shark if that helps. I haven't seen any friendly fish in doom yet!
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby Slasher » Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:00 am

Doesn't Duke3D have dopefish sprites or something? But I guess those would be too silly.

This seems like resources that will have to be created from scratch... I can't think of any games that have neutral fish.

Phobus wrote:I think LWM has a wad somewhere which had a school of fish which just swim around. Its the resources to one of her wads - but for the life of me I can't remember which wad it was. It had a big lance in it too I think.

Perhaps you're thinking of Wolfen? I think that had a lance. As far as fish, it had the bone eel from Blood, but that's not exactly friendly.
User avatar
Slasher
It smells like luncheon meat that's been walking around in the sun too long.
 
Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Location: California

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby chopkinsca » Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:40 pm

Just a little size comparison:
size of current version on /idgames = 13.9 MB
Size of development file = 22.5 MB

I'm quite surprised at the difference, I don't remember adding that much stuff. :cry:
User avatar
chopkinsca
Nothing
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2003

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby Cutmanmike » Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:47 pm

But it's gonna be worth it right? :D
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby chopkinsca » Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:49 pm

I certainly hope so :)

This isn't even counting the higher quality music (I hope), and text/ display pictures for the 12 different endings (based on how well you explore the island).
User avatar
chopkinsca
Nothing
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2003

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby Captain Ventris » Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:49 pm

chopkinsca wrote:12 different endings (based on how well you explore the island).


chopkinsca wrote:12 different endings


chopkinsca wrote:12 endings


chopkinsca wrote:12


Oh yes.
User avatar
Captain Ventris
Buy my novel, “The Shadow Among The Stars” on Amazon or Itch.io!
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby Slasher » Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:53 pm

chopkinsca wrote:Just a little size comparison:
size of current version on /idgames = 13.9 MB
Size of development file = 22.5 MB

I'm quite surprised at the difference, I don't remember adding that much stuff. :cry:


There are some things you can do to optimize the file size: (This is assuming you haven't done any of these yet.)

1. Make your project into .pk3 format.
2. Convert all graphics to pngs
3. Convert all audio to MP3 or OGG format.... I forget which is smaller. NOTE: If the music is a MIDI, then leave it alone, it's small enough.
4. In each map, zero out the REJECT and BLOCKMAP lumps. ZDBSP can do this.
Last edited by Slasher on Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Slasher
It smells like luncheon meat that's been walking around in the sun too long.
 
Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Location: California

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby TheDarkArchon » Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:54 pm

Slasher wrote:1. Make your project into .pk3 format.
2. Convert all graphics to pngs


If you do 1, 2 won't make much of a difference
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby chopkinsca » Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:21 pm

I'm not really concerned about file size right now. If someone wants to do it for me, be my guest.
User avatar
chopkinsca
Nothing
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2003

Re: Phocas Island 2.5

Postby Slasher » Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:27 pm

chopkinsca wrote:I'm not really concerned about file size right now. If someone wants to do it for me, be my guest.

You should at least try to convert it to PK3 format, if nothing else. It'll make managing your resources easier for you to deal with, and you should notice a significant decrease in file size. I know I did when I converted some of my projects. I'll never use wad format for larger projects again. :wink:

But you can wait until it's closer to being finished. However you want to do it is fine. :wink:
User avatar
Slasher
It smells like luncheon meat that's been walking around in the sun too long.
 
Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Location: California

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cybermouse2077, undeadmonk354 and 10 guests