Total Chaos - Update 0.97.4 Available!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Total Chaos - Update 0.97.4 Available!

Postby Blue Shadow » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:07 pm

If you're not supposed to find it in the game, then how did the plasma rifle get into the player's inventory to begin with? Cheats? That's the only thing I can think of.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: Total Chaos - Update 0.97.4 Available!

Postby Enjay » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:47 pm

Indeed, the game can't change to a weapon you don't have - so somehow it got into the inventory. If there's nothing in Total Chaos that gives the plasma rifle (and I'm pretty sure there isn't), it had to have come from elsewhere and cheating is most likely.

Seems to me like the pickaxe broke (and therefore disappeared) so GZDoom switched to the weapon in the inventory with the highest weapon priority.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Total Chaos - Update 0.97.4 Available!

Postby DOOMERO-21 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:24 pm

that plasmarifle bug happen to me before with others mods, maybe is a bug from the source port.
User avatar
DOOMERO-21
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2008
Location: Chile

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Mabuse76 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:42 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Even worse, if that happens it will fall back on GZDoom, even though you cannot blame an engine that was never meant to handle this amount of data, but how are the customers supposed to know that?


Relax. Nobody will do that.
In fact time Progresses - and Computers that can easily handle things like Total Chaos are nowadays "low Budget builds".
i for myself, limited to GZdoom < 2.0 for a Long time, switched recently to a modern low Budget build -

and now i enjoy all the Levels ad mods that were out of range for my very old pc.
now i kinda disappointed if a mod doesnt put hitboxes all over the enemies.

my new ting (for less than 350 bucks) can handle the mod very well. i say you need 4gb für graphic and some Kind of processor that can handle the amout of data.
i even bloat the textures using some "4xBRZ" -stuff and 16x antialiasing in 1080p, ddr4 memory with 2667 mhz. nothing wrong with that.

really, Keep the Quality going and progressing this mod is a great example of what GZ can handle.
i MAY be that there are some minimum reqs, that could be lowered by another engine, but ist also great to keep downward compataility and enjoy the full palette that doom has to offer.
Last edited by Mabuse76 on Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mabuse76
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2018

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby wildweasel » Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:59 pm

Mabuse76 wrote:Relax. Nobody will do that.

People already complain a lot about Unity Engine, though, without having any idea what it's actually for. :?
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Rachael » Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:26 am

Mabuse76 wrote:Relax. Nobody will do that.

You, my good sir, have a lot of good faith in humanity that they don't really deserve. ;)
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Total Chaos - Update 0.97.4 Available!

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:22 am

People will complain about everything and anything, mostly because they have no clue what they complain about. They often will put the blame on entirely wrong parties just because they are a more obvious target.

We do not really have to look far for that. Some people here in the Doom community operate under the assumption that Doom is an old game and therefore has to be able to run on their old computers. Of course for them "Doom" and "GZDoom" are one and the same. The mere idea that it may be their old computer that cannot cope with all the stuff that got added to the engine over the years is a totally alien concept to them. What they see is that GZDoom 1.8 is "running fine" and that 3.6 is "running like crap". Of course they never consider the fact that 3.6 adds lots of new features that require more powerfiul hardware.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Total Chaos - Update 0.97.4 Available!

Postby fakemai » Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:14 am

It's understandable that a more complex engine would have higher requirements, but I find it questionable that an engine primarily used for running Doom needs to focus so heavily on graphical capabilities when (at least to me) it's been more about how the games play, and the very creative modding community. Consider also whether you want to enable even less optimized mod programmers because they can get away with it, like all those 1GB indie games made up of crap pixel art. Oh, and with the caveat I have stuff like dynamic lights turned off, and only got to the first enemy before chickening out, Total Chaos actually manages to be playable on even my gutter trash laptop, and still looks impressive and not at all something I would expect a Doom mod to do.
User avatar
fakemai
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2018
Location: Australia

Re: Total Chaos - Update 0.97.4 Available!

Postby ate0ate » Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:45 am

I agree with Graff here that the unwashed masses will always find something to complain about. Its kind of an inevitable outcome of ignorance to certain subjects that in one area or another we are all guilty of. I would say that since that cannot be changed, it also should not be worried about. Like many here, I grew up playing Doom at its release and am quite amazed at the directions that modern source ports such as GZDoom have allowed mods for Doom to branch out into. Playing the shareware demo of Doom on my old 486SX back in the day I would never have imagined that a mod looking like Total Chaos would ever be a possibility. Things like this exist now because of the focus GZDoom has had on graphical capabilities, and many other considerable improvements that modders now have access to thanks to the toolbox of modern source ports. The more tools available results in more possibilities, so I would argue its worth focusing on making improvements despite the increased hardware specs. Within reason of course. As long as most of the unwashed masses have access to it, good enough. Outliers are inevitable. Taking away tools or not providing them at all just because some will be unhappy would be like limiting artists to only certain mediums since some will complain or not understand the artwork created. Just look at what people have created this year in Doom modding. Two examples, Doom Slayer Chronicles and Total Chaos, while both being graphically demanding and impressive, also both play and perform worlds apart. Same tools making completely different results with varying optimization. Gotta take the good with the bad.
User avatar
ate0ate
 
Joined: 24 Jun 2018

Re: Total Chaos - Update 0.97.4 Available!

Postby fakemai » Sat Nov 10, 2018 1:54 am

Total Chaos actually isn't. Like, I get about 10FPS at the other end of the starting map even with dynamic lights turned on (they're glitchy) and that's on probably the worst graphics card that can still run latest GZDoom. Vintage build. A mod that is actually unplayable on that is Russian Overkill when I try using half the weapons. Anyway I'm not saying to use that as a lowest common denominator. My point is more that you can make stuff look great without such capability, and at some point, it becomes more trouble than it's worth to add too much in the way of graphical capability when there is a limit to what most mods are able to do with them. The ones that use it well are outliers compared to the ones that will use it to make the mod require a gaming PC. Plus GZDoom is already a Tower of Babel for having to hold up so much.

Anyway just to be somewhat helpful, unless there's graphical effects my system can't even handle that are extremely demanding on systems that can, the author can probably take from this that he doesn't need to specify insane requirements for his mod to be playable. For reference, Core 2 Duo L9400 1.86GHz, Intel GM45, 8GB RAM. Alternatively allow disabling of things like shaders, then the insane requirements are optional.
User avatar
fakemai
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2018
Location: Australia

Re: Total Chaos - Update 0.97.4 Available!

Postby R4L » Tue Nov 13, 2018 4:41 pm

Idk, I'm running it on an AMD Athlon X4 860k at stock, with 8GB DDR3 1600MHz, and a 750ti at stock with no frame dips or lag spikes, all at 1080p with everything on High. So maybe the requirements could be lowered a bit. I can try my work machine at some point too (i5-3470, 4GB DDR3, AMD HD7450) to give you a better idea.
User avatar
R4L
Ordinary Vanity
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2017
Discord: R4L#4655

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BROS_ETT_311 and 7 guests