[Added] Ability to customize pause display

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Ability to customize pause display

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sat Oct 16, 2021 2:31 am

This is a bit of a wild one, probably, but I'd be interested in seeing if it could be accepted.

Currently, the "Paused" display is entirely hardcoded, but it would be desirable for mods to alter that if they want something with more visual flair.

As with my previous customization features this will be done through a virtual function in the status bar. I've opened a pull request here.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ability to customize pause display

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sat Oct 16, 2021 3:32 am

This would be so cool.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Certified Heretic and Grill Champion
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Disappointment Island
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 11
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ability to customize pause display

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Oct 16, 2021 3:36 am

Sure, why not?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Ability to customize pause display

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sat Oct 16, 2021 6:55 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Sure, why not?

Who are you and what have you done with Graf? :shock:
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ability to customize pause display

Postby Logan MTM » Sat Oct 16, 2021 5:51 pm

Ok, how to...?
User avatar
Logan MTM
I can see you...
 
Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: Ability to customize pause display

Postby Blue Shadow » Sat Oct 16, 2021 11:29 pm

Something like this...

Code: Select allExpand view
class MyStatusBar : BaseStatusBar
{
    override bool DrawPaused (int player)
    {
        // Do stuff here...

        // Returning 'true' skips the internal drawing of the "Pause" sign,
        // otherwise it's drawn too.
        return true;
    }
}
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Ability to customize pause display

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sun Oct 17, 2021 2:29 am

Note that the "player" parameter is used for multiplayer so you can show the "by <player name>" subtitle. It will be set to -1 if it wasn't paused by a player (does that actually happen?).
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest