[No] Animated mouse cursor in menues

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Animated mouse cursor in menues

Postby Ozymandias81 » Fri Oct 08, 2021 5:51 pm

As the title say, while I am not aware if it is possible to code it directly, would be cool to have a new MAPINFO/GAMEINFO property like "cursorpic2" sort of to indicate an animated cursor, that is defined under ANIMDEFS and which works like animated textures, taking precedence even if a CURSORPIC is defined. Name present under "cursorpic2" should match custom cursor name defined on animdefs, using a new entry called CURSOR (instead of texture/flat), maybe code shoulld look like this:

Code: Select allExpand view
cursor CURSOR1
   pic CURSOR1 tic [int value]
   pic CURSOR2 tic [int value]
   pic CURSOR3 tic [int value]
   pic CURSOR4 tic [int value]


I am aware that "the cursor display is actually handled by the system and therefore subject to certain specific limitations", as wiki says, but would be cool to be possible, or expose this somehow under zscript if that has not been done yet. :3:
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Github ID: Ozymandias81
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Animated mouse cursor in menues

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Oct 09, 2021 12:43 am

While Windows can do it, it requires a custom file format for this, so it'd be platforms specific.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Animated mouse cursor in menues

Postby Cacodemon345 » Sat Oct 09, 2021 3:15 am

It also seems only doable on Windows, X11 and Wayland; the rest doesn't support programmatically-created animated cursors AFAIK.
Cacodemon345
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151
Github ID: Cacodemon345
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Animated mouse cursor in menues

Postby Gez » Sat Oct 09, 2021 3:36 am

As long as the system supports the application arbitrarily changing the cursor at some point, it could be done by having a thinker that updates the cursor every frame. But that doesn't really seem worth the effort.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Animated mouse cursor in menues

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Oct 09, 2021 3:44 am

Thinkers do not run when the menu is up because normally the game is paused. This is also not really performant.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Animated mouse cursor in menues

Postby Rachael » Sat Oct 09, 2021 4:19 am

You can throw the cursor handling to a dedicated thread - that might be the best way to handle it on all platforms. Plus that allows you to use a platform-neutral format.

But then the question becomes is the feature important enough that someone is willing to invest the time to do that?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Animated mouse cursor in menues

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Oct 09, 2021 4:37 am

I would never allow adding such shit to GZDoom. Let's end it here.
Hack implementations like that have a strong tendency to break rather sooner than later.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests