[No] Ability to use a folder as IWAD

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Ability to use a folder as IWAD

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sun Jul 18, 2021 9:23 am

This is really just an inconvenience for testing standalone games during development, so I guess it wouldn't be a priority, but it is a pain that I have to pack the whole thing into an ipk3 every time I change anything to be able to load it.
Last edited by Marisa Kirisame on Sun Jul 18, 2021 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Cannot use folder as IWAD

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sun Jul 18, 2021 9:24 am

I'd second this as a feature.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Certified Heretic and Grill Champion
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Disappointment Island
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 11
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Cannot use folder as IWAD

Postby _mental_ » Sun Jul 18, 2021 10:17 am

First of all, why do you think that it's a bug? If you take a look at the corresponding code, you will see that it accepts only a file with one of these extensions.

There is no need to pack everything to .iwad/.ipk3/.ipk7. It's enough to add one file, IWADINFO, and load everything else from a directory as PWAD. DEFBINDS should be in IWAD too, maybe something else I forgot, but most of content is usable as separate files.

Of course, you can invest some time into making it work from a directory directly. Probably, it's quite easy to do.
However, I would say that such feature has a pretty low priority for us.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Cannot use folder as IWAD

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sun Jul 18, 2021 11:11 am

I guess this can be moved to feature suggestions then.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ability to use a folder as IWAD

Postby QuotePilgrim » Wed Jul 21, 2021 2:11 pm

Hi.

So I've been working on astandalone game in .ipk3 myself since last month, and as I was trying to figure out how to do it from a directory instead. Eventually I figured out by myself a solution that seems to work perfectly, and since this is a recent thread I decided to create an account just to share my findings.

What I did was create a dummy .ipk3 file containing nothing but an IWADINFO file inside it, so that GZDoom tries to run it as an IWAD when you run it (also you should delete game_support.pk3 and brightmaps.pk3 from your project's GZDoom copy, if you haven't already). This will of course throw an error if you just run GZDoom with no other parameters, but what it accomplishes is you can now run GZDoom like so:
Code: Select allExpand view
gzdoom.exe -file <your_project's_directory>
and, boom, there you have it, you can now test your project from a directory so you don't to repackage it every time. You can set up SLADE to run it by adding "file %a" to your game executable's run configuration; I'm not sure how to do it for UDB because I don't use it.

Then, when you're ready to distribute your game online, all you need is to package your directory into an ipk3 file and delete the dummy one.

To be honest I only figured this out because I was curious, I really don't mind editing the pk3 file directly on SLADE haha.
User avatar
QuotePilgrim
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2021
Discord: QuotePilgrim#0700

Re: Ability to use a folder as IWAD

Postby QuotePilgrim » Wed Jul 21, 2021 2:14 pm

Lol I'm an idiot, the solution I described was mentioned literally two posts above. I really need to read more carefully. Oh well.
User avatar
QuotePilgrim
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2021
Discord: QuotePilgrim#0700

Re: Ability to use a folder as IWAD

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jul 21, 2021 10:56 pm

I do not see any real use here outside mod development and for that the existing options are good enough
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Ability to use a folder as IWAD

Postby dawnbreez » Mon Dec 06, 2021 9:15 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:I do not see any real use here outside mod development and for that the existing options are good enough


Disagree. This would be incredibly useful for standalone game development, especially since I use git to do version control on my work. The disconnect between what's in my .ipk3 and what's in the git repo might seem small, but it's a real pain in the ass. Unless there's some major issue with allowing folders to be loaded as ipk3s, I think the community would benefit greatly from making the ipk3 workflow smoother.
User avatar
dawnbreez
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2015

Re: Ability to use a folder as IWAD

Postby Matt » Fri Dec 10, 2021 9:31 pm

What Dawnbreez said.

If you're working on a standalone game like this your workflow is going to be either:

1. every time you want to try out a change, stop everything you're doing, re-archive everything, rename the thing to .ipk3, then run

2. do everything as a mod (with some barebones thing as the underlying iwad) and then convert it all into a new .ipk3 when it's ready to be released

instead of just running the thing right away.


I mean, it is possible to create a batch file to automate 1, but I remember how much of an annoyance that was for compiling ACS every time (creating the file, making sure it was referring to the right folders, removing it from the final pk3)... it's all a bunch of really tiny little things but they're all flow-breaking tiny little things.
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Ability to use a folder as IWAD

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sat Dec 11, 2021 9:03 am

Honestly I do wonder how quickly I'm chipping away at the life of my SSD by having to repeatedly repackage everything over and over for each small change.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests