[No] ACS_Change Global Pallette

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

ACS_Change Global Pallette

Postby Nmn » Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:00 am

I had an idea with this that really might be useful for some. The title is a self-explanatory. The wad contains different pallettes and this function changes the default one to another one and affects the activator, or all players (2nd parameter, first one would be the pallette name).

Getting pallettes isn't hard-xwe and inkworks do their job well :)

Let's say I have 2 pallettes-the Doom pallette and a version with all colors in cyan or a pretty aquamarine (Doom lacks Cyan).
What happens when I go underwater? Instead of this royalblue I could see a nice watery color if it was possible to change pallettes with ACS. This could easily fake the lack of 24 bits in colored sectors ;) only in this situation tough :?

This could lead to some interesting things, like black and whiting the player's view and such (Zdoom doesn't support tricks with the invulnerability, that could be done with Inkworks-see Hacx's invulnerability as an example). Or maybe System Shock-esque Berserk patch side-effect? Custom night goggles that brighten everything and invert values (so it becomes bright) and have a nice green tint?

A real use for it (for me or artists who attempt to make their own cutscenes in the game via pictures) would be in making cutscenes from static pictures-more than often the pallette ruins them. What if I could set up a custom pallette for the moment the picture is displayed? ;) I could get that pallette with Inkworks from that very image and it would remain untouched. The picture would be displayed Strife-intro way so the player wouldn't see the messed up game world by the custom picture's pallette ;)

This is actually implemented (see-Heretic's 2nd episode "endpic") but I kindly ask for control over it via ACS.

If the pallettes could also have their own colormaps this would lead to many interesting visual effects :)

Looking forward.
Last edited by Nmn on Mon Jul 25, 2005 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Nmn
Stay creative, my friends.
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:06 am

Not that easy. There are several internal translation tables that had to be adjusted for it to work - and the palette would still need to be compatible with all graphics present in the game or you'd get some visual corruption - most likely in the console.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Enjay » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:01 am

But even limited palettes would be cool. It would be up to the user to ensure they were suitable - just like any other 3rd party resource. Imagine being able to play map01 with the regular palette, map02 with my marine assault one, map03 with the zen dynamics one...

All of those are legal, usable palettes that change individual colour ranges to reasonable and suitable alternatives for easy plug and play palette changing. Wouldn't that be good, usable and possible?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Nmn » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:26 am

Exactly. For one map the pallette may have greens for trees.

In the other map it may have pretty cyans for some crystals of some sort. This is definately something as a Graphic artist I'm looking forward too. The best use for it would surely be the sky :)
One map-pretty blue sky
2nd map-a violet-blue night time sky
3rd map-a cyanic freaky nebula :)
User avatar
Nmn
Stay creative, my friends.
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby Arcane » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:54 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Not that easy. There are several internal translation tables that had to be adjusted for it to work - and the palette would still need to be compatible with all graphics present in the game or you'd get some visual corruption - most likely in the console.


Who opens the console when they're going for pure gameplay? I personally don't use it unless I'm screwing around with Freeze and summon.
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

Postby Cutmanmike » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:56 am

Well you never know when you might want to change a binding or whatnot.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
A little bit dead?
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Enjay » Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:08 am

Nmn wrote:One map-pretty blue sky
2nd map-a violet-blue night time sky
3rd map-a cyanic freaky nebula :)


And all using the same graphic. ;)

Actually, yes, your ideas are exactly the sort of uses I would want to put global palette changes to as well.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Nmn » Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:52 am

There are many ways for utilizing this IMO. Most Build engine games did not used this feature for nothing!
User avatar
Nmn
Stay creative, my friends.
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby Arcane » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:00 am

Nmn wrote:There are many ways for utilizing this IMO. Most Build engine games did not used this feature for nothing!


Best. English. Ever.
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

Postby Nmn » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:19 am

Arcane wrote:Best. English. Ever.

Most useful post ever :P

that and stfu mrs. Cromwell ;)
User avatar
Nmn
Stay creative, my friends.
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby Ryan Cordell » Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:57 pm

Nmn wrote:There are many ways for utilizing this IMO. Most Build engine games did not used this feature for nothing!


In ZDoom, this may come but in Duke, all it was needed was to define the pallete of an object through BUILD, like a wall, sky, object, enemy or such. Fairly simple.
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Enjay » Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:01 pm

Did Duke actually use different palettes? I thought it did something more like the translation function we already have in Zdoom.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Ajapted » Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:32 pm

There's no way Duke would allow completely different palettes on different objects/surfaces at the same time. I'm guessing the 'palette' property was just a remap table.
Ajapted
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2005
Location: Tasmania

Postby Grubber » Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:33 am

Exactly.
User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:09 am

Even the underwater palette? I always thought that was a completely different palette.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest