[No] Fix last few bugs in it and add Chex Quest as an IWAD

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Postby MasterOFDeath » Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:50 am

I noted that also. How else would they make it an IWAD without some kind of engine modification?
User avatar
MasterOFDeath
professional lurking witch
 
Joined: 03 Apr 2004

Postby Arcane » Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:59 am

Okay. I got the message "That Doesn't Seem to Work".

It may have been loading Zdoom.wad from a Doszdoom installation.
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:02 am

If that message comes you don't have a LOCKDEFS lump loaded. Which means you are loading an incorrect ZDoom.wad.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Arcane » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:14 am

Then Chex Quest plays perfectly fine as an IWAD -and- I'm an idiot.
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

Postby Enjay » Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:32 pm

MasterOFDeath wrote:I noted that also. How else would they make it an IWAD without some kind of engine modification?


Put in their own replacements for all the original lumps using the original id lump names (just like freedoom is doing). I thought they (Chex) had done that. Which lumps are just copies of the id ones ?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Arcane » Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:07 pm

Enjay wrote:Put in their own replacements for all the original lumps using the original id lump names (just like freedoom is doing). I thought they (Chex) had done that. Which lumps are just copies of the id ones ?


Well, if you run it in ZDoom it seems to have the entire E4 of The Ultimate Doom.

Unless somehow I screwed up even worse.
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

Postby Enjay » Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:20 pm

Arcane wrote:Unless somehow I screwed up even worse.


I think you did. IIRC The original Chex release wad a replacement for the Doom1 shareware wad. It should only contain replacements for the lumps found in that WAD. You must be loading it as a PWAD on top of Ultimate Doom's IWAD.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Arcane » Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:22 pm

My command prompt line is

zdoom -iwad chex.wad

So I guess something even more bizarre is happening.
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

Postby wildweasel » Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:42 pm

I remember that - I thought you had to actually purchase The Ultimate Doom (and that there was no conversion patch), and I figured out a workaround to get Episode 4 out of Chex Quest (I believe it involved switching the Doom IWAD with the Chex Quest IWAD, then running it with -file chex.wad to get the Doom graphics back).
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Postby Enjay » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:21 pm

Arcane wrote:zdoom -iwad chex.wad


If Chex is a proper IWAD, then that should work. Do you have the full, unaltered Chex as it came on the serial box or a modified version? I think Chex maybe came out before Episode 4 was added to Doom. So episode 4 bing in the wad is suspect to say the least. Do you have any other episodes? The original Chex was one episode. Later Chex adventures were made though. I think these were only available as downloads and I don't think they were IWADs. Some used ripped graphics from other projects.

I'm pretty sure Chex came with a modified exe (dehacked to changes strings). Does your copy have a dehacked patch with it or even in the WAD?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby chaoscentral » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:59 pm

chex quest 1 only had 1 episode. it was the doom shareware with different graphics. because all of the resource names are the same. there was a chex quest 2, but I think that used doom 2 as the base. I stil have the original cd of chex quest 1. so does that sort of answer anyones question... srry im half asleep at the moment.
User avatar
chaoscentral
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Location: Revere, MA

Postby wildweasel » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:21 pm

I used the Chex Quest found in the cereal box. I think I got it the day it came out.

Chex Quest 2 was actually a PWAD designed for the original Chex Quest. When you'd download it from the website, it'd come with a batch file that read "chex -file chex2.wad"
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Postby Bio Hazard » Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:45 am

Just to settle the debate on wether or not Chex Quest contians UD:
Yes it does:

EDIT: Oops! posting the output in spoilers jesus' the thread, I'll attach it

In case anyone wants it:
Spoiler: "LumpList source"
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Bashe » Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:24 am

Is there any way to get all the new hacked info out of the Chex.exe, since that is how the wad is supposed to played and all. Playing it without the Chex.exe makes it all like Doom with graphics replacement, like when you run it with Zdoom or just doom -file chex.wad.
User avatar
Bashe
boof
 
Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Location: Ohio

Postby Arcane » Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:51 am

Bio Hazard wrote:Just to settle the debate on wether or not Chex Quest contians UD:
Yes it does


Yay! <3

Thanks for helping out here. :P
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

PreviousNext

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests