[No] Blood on sprites?

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Blood on sprites?

Postby Caligari87 » Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:00 pm

Would it be at all possible to add a feature (maybe optional CVAR) that places bloodsplats on a creature set to bleed? This would be a cool way to see if you're actually hurting something, and if so, how badly. Don't let the decal be drawn on cyan (or index #257 if you're going to be particular) and you've got a cool effect.

Rotations would kind of spoil the effect, as the engine doesn't know how to place the decal in a new postition, but it would still be awesome to see an imp get more bloody every time you shoot it. JDoom does this, to a degree, too.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Postby TheDarkArchon » Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:09 pm

Jdoom uses alternative skins for that purpose.
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

Postby Tormentor667 » Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:42 pm

Korax Mod uses Damage Sprites, maybe a possibility! Or do it with ACS in some way
(if Health = 100 then Skin = xxxx)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Jul 15, 2005 1:24 pm

I don't see this happening. Far too much work for marginal and questionable gain.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Nmn » Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:55 am

Different pain sprites dependant on actor's health is a fantastic idea in my opinion :)

EDIT:
BUMPAGE
User avatar
Nmn
Dafuq lmao
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby NiGHTMARE » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:09 am

Agreed with Graf. This would be relatively quick and easy for an artist to do with with 3D models (hence why it's in plenty of modern FPS'), but unfortunately would take forever with sprites.
NiGHTMARE
.now.
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003

Postby MasterOFDeath » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:12 am

If you had the patience and enough room for assloads of sprites, it could be done with decorate probaly.
User avatar
MasterOFDeath
professional lurking witch
 
Joined: 03 Apr 2004

Postby Arcane » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:15 am

But what about the people who DO use 3D models?
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

Postby HobbsTiger1 » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:19 am

STBT
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Might be banned
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Location: #DMClub

Postby Nmn » Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:20 am

Arcane wrote:But what about the people who DO use 3D models?

This is Zdoom we're talking here.
<_<
User avatar
Nmn
Dafuq lmao
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby Anakin S. » Wed Jul 20, 2005 1:53 pm

Tormentor667 wrote:Korax Mod uses Damage Sprites, maybe a possibility! Or do it with ACS in some way
(if Health = 100 then Skin = xxxx)


If you have all the sprites made, you can just use A_JumpIfHealthLower in all of the monster's states.
User avatar
Anakin S.
Am I evil?
 
Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Location: A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...

Postby Arcane » Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:13 pm

Nmn wrote:
Arcane wrote:But what about the people who DO use 3D models?

This is Zdoom we're talking here.
<_<


DAMN, if only there was a screenshot function so 3D models could have pictures taken of them to use as sprites.
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

Postby Nmn » Thu Jul 21, 2005 7:34 am

Such look badly.
User avatar
Nmn
Dafuq lmao
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Poland
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby Arcane » Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:50 am

So you don't like LWM's stuff?

I thought she used DOGA or whatever it's called for them.
User avatar
Arcane
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2004

Postby Nash » Thu Jul 21, 2005 3:46 pm

The problem with LWM's rendered sprites is that they were modelled in such a way that you can see the seams between the limbs. What she did was she just put together a bunch of primitives on top of each other. This makes the models look kind of amateur-ish. :/

I don't blame her though because DOGA's modelling tools are very limited, the last time I tried it. Back then she pointed to a link to the exact version she used for her models and I wasn't impressed with the program.

She could have used box modelling techniques or better yet, sub division modelling. There's a freeware modelling tool that can do all that called Anim8or and some of the models that were made in Anim8or are breath-taking.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Next

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests