[No] Is there a way to force the main menu to display in 320x200?

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Is there a way to force the main menu to display in 320x200?

Postby zenlikecreature » Sun Aug 02, 2020 4:14 pm

I use 320x200 resolution scale which looks very nice but when I press esc the resolution changes, causing an inconsistency. So my main point is that I would like to ask for a way I could tweak that to remain at 320x200.

Now, since I'm in suggestions section:
I noticed that in 320x200 the weapon sprite warps a little, which doesn't occur in the Chocolate Doom port.
In general, gzdoom might benefit from including certain settings that are a part of the Vanilla Essence mod in my opinion.
zenlikecreature
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2020

Re: Is there a way to force the main menu to display in 320x

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Aug 02, 2020 4:21 pm

The menu needs to be able to display the option menus which do not work at 320x200, so the main menu can't either.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Is there a way to force the main menu to display in 320x

Postby drfrag » Sun Aug 02, 2020 4:29 pm

It's still possible in LZDoom.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Is there a way to force the main menu to display in 320x

Postby zenlikecreature » Sat Aug 29, 2020 4:09 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:The menu needs to be able to display the option menus which do not work at 320x200, so the main menu can't either.


Any chance to at least have the wad logo beautifully matching screen height like in Chocolate Doom instead of small logo in the centre of the screen... ?

I mean, that's probably the first-level menu. The submenus could be switched to higher resolution if they become unreadable.
zenlikecreature
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2020

Re: Is there a way to force the main menu to display in 320x

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Aug 30, 2020 1:21 am

The menu's scaling is a matter that definitely needs addressing.
While working on Raze I got really used to the consistently scaled menus and I'd really like to do that in GZDoom, too, but have to be careful not to break mods with that that replace the menus with their own implementation.

Same for other fullscreen elements, but again the issue with user content making assumptions will be a major factor.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests