Page 1 of 3

Add other IWads to Zdoom start up list!!!!

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:57 am
by solarsnowfall
Zdoom recognises Doom.wad, Doom2.wad, Tnt.wad, and Plutonia.wad at the start up so you can pick wich game you play. Maybe there could be a config or ini file in the Zdoom folder that players could manually ad other Iwads to the list like Eternal or Icarus. Or maybe it could autodetect other Iwads. Don't think this one would be very difficult.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 5:21 am
by BouncyTEM
while this is an interesting idea, I have to correct you on something..

Eternal Doom and Icarus are not iwads. they are pwads.

also to mention if you wanted this to work you'd have to modify the wads to include EVERYTHING from Doom II graphic and sound wise...otherwise it wouldn't work.

edit: spelling error >_<

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 5:59 am
by anonone
Right. Though it might be kind of interesting to have an addition to the IWAD menu at startup -- maybe a list of all PWADs in a known pwad folder (specifiable via the .ini), so you choose your IWAD, then a PWAD, then run.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 5:59 am
by solarsnowfall
Well merging the wads wouldn't be difficult at all. Will this allow Zdoom to atuodetect them at present? Or was that just implied in the situation of my suggestion?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:01 am
by anonone
The IWADs ZDoom detects are hardcoded, if I remember right. Merging the original IWAD content into the PWAD won't work.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:09 am
by solarsnowfall
Even if it were named Doom.wad? Back up Doom, but a new feature would be nice ;)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:21 am
by anonone
Yeah -- if it was named Doom.wad, then it'd work. The names are what's hardcoded.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:22 am
by Enjay
If a config option was added (and I have to say, it's not something I feel is especially useful) then the WAD being a PWAD shouldn't matter. The config option would just have to include a way of telling which IWAD to load the PWAD with. Then, you click on (eg) Eternal Doom in your menu and Zdoom automatically loads Eternal Doom and the Doom2 IWAD. That's pretty much what happens when you load HexenDD. HexenDD is not a full IWAD, so Zdoom loads it on top of the original Hexen IWAD.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:26 am
by Arcane
D: Chex Quest!

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 11:12 am
by solarsnowfall
Ah yes, the cereal box mod

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 11:54 am
by Graf Zahl
No way this will work automatically. You'd need at least a config file to specify everything else needed to load a WAD. And experience tells me that this will already be too much for those who demand this most.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:12 pm
by Zippy
Graf Zahl wrote:No way this will work automatically. You'd need at least a config file to specify everything else needed to load a WAD. And experience tells me that this will already be too much for those who demand this most.


In other words, the people who would use this and make a config file which lists all their PWADs are the people who would just make the shortcuts or whatever anyway. This isn't automatic enough for the people who want it.

While ZDoom could pop up a list of all the PWADs in your directory (all .wad's which are not IWADs), there is absolutly no way for ZDoom to tell automatically which IWADs to load those PWADs with. Not through detection or deduction.

anonone wrote:Right. Though it might be kind of interesting to have an addition to the IWAD menu at startup -- maybe a list of all PWADs in a known pwad folder (specifiable via the .ini), so you choose your IWAD, then a PWAD, then run.


And while this would work (especially if it remembered which IWAD's you've used with which PWADs), this is basically just a launcher anyway, and there are already a few of those, so no real significant reason to include that with ZDoom. ZDoom Launcher Wiki Page.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:36 pm
by Enjay
Zippy wrote:In other words, the people who would use this and make a config file which lists all their PWADs are the people who would just make the shortcuts or whatever anyway. This isn't automatic enough for the people who want it.


I took it more that Graf possibly meant the people who want the simplicity of being able to click an auto-generated menu option when Zdoom starts are the ones least likely to dive into a text config file and edit it to include the options they want :?:

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 5:09 pm
by Bio Hazard
ZDL has configurable IWADS :)
</ad>

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 5:49 pm
by timmie
anonone wrote:Yeah -- if it was named Doom.wad, then it'd work. The names are what's hardcoded.


I believe it also tests for certain lumps depending on the filename.