[Not needed] Control Option: Swap-to/from Chainsaw

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Control Option: Swap-to/from Chainsaw

Postby boom-potato » Sun Dec 08, 2019 4:29 pm

Hello zdoomers,

Zdoom forum newbie here. I have been wanting something like this in conjunction with mods like Brutal Doom, Eviternity, and even (mostly) vanilla doom. I got the idea from playing half-life 2 shortly before playing some doom mods and realizing how useful the Gravity Gun button was. You can swap to and from with one button which I feel made the barrier to using it way lower. I often wished I used the chainsaw more often in doom but never do because switching back to my current weapon can be a pain.

I am posting this as a suggestion but I would like to give a crack at implementing the changes myself and submitting a formal pull request with this feature. I am finishing my bachelors in computer science currently so I am not brand new to throwing down some code but this is a huge and expansive project and I am still learning how to write actual code instead of just doing homework assignments. So I am suggesting this to see if anyone else is interested in something like this but also asking for pointers on what code to look at to start this and maybe some suggestions on implementation.

Outline:
When you want to quickly swap to the chainsaw you press SWAP_CHAINSAW_BUTTON. Then once you want to go back to the previously equipped weapon, press SWAP_CHAINSAW_BUTTON again. If you select the chainsaw with 1, the currently equipped weapon will go into the PREVIOUS_WEAPON buffer so you can still swap back with SWAP_CHAINSAW_BUTTON if you want to.

Settings(?):
SWAP_CHAINSAW_BUTTON: User defined button that swaps to the chainsaw and swaps back.
PREVIOUS_WEAPON: Internal variable for keeping track of the weapon the weapon used before selecting the chainsaw.

Potential issues: