[Not needed] Enter text before MAP01

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Enter text before MAP01

Postby Enjay » Sun Jun 19, 2005 3:16 am

I don't know how many times I've wanted to use this but had to use another method instead.

I'd like to be able to put a MAP07 style entertext message up before MAP01. AFAIK, the earliest you can do this in a game is after MAP01.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 19, 2005 4:56 am

Just make a small start map that immediately exits and use that as MAP01 (don't forget NOINTERMISSION.) Then you will get your text!
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Enjay » Sun Jun 19, 2005 5:03 am

That's one of the "another methods" I have used. You've got to admit, loading up a level only to have it automatically exit immediately just so that some text can be viewed is nothing like as neat as it being supported properly from MAPINFO.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:11 am

Not if the 'proper support' requires needless work.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Ninja_of_DooM » Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:30 am

TITLEMAP anyone? I used that myself once. Quite handy too.:)
Ninja_of_DooM
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Location: Lossiemouth, Scotland

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:33 am

Not the same!
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Ajapted » Sun Jun 19, 2005 8:19 am

You have to do something like call F_StartFinale at the end of G_DoNewGame, and remove the G_DoLoadLevel from the end of G_InitNew and do it via the gamestate. It's tricky, but doable.
Ajapted
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2005
Location: Tasmania

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 19, 2005 9:48 am

Ajapted wrote: It's tricky, but doable.



That's the thing. I have no ideas how well it works with ZDoom. But considering that there is a ridiculously simple alternative to achieve the same effect I don't think that this is worth wasting any effort for.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby HobbsTiger1 » Sun Jun 19, 2005 1:30 pm

@Enjay, jsut have text appear on the players screen at the start of the level, or alternatively if you have a lot, stick it in the text file. You've probably done both before, and find you would like that map 07 style. Oh well, perhaps the above trick works.
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Might be banned
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Location: #DMClub

Postby doom2day » Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:20 am

add a feature to zdoom that displays a map07 style text.
User avatar
doom2day
So much to learn, so little attention span!
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2005

Postby LK873 » Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:09 am

LK873
 
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby death734 » Mon Jul 18, 2005 8:59 pm

Enjay wrote:That's one of the "another methods" I have used. You've got to admit, loading up a level only to have it automatically exit immediately just so that some text can be viewed is nothing like as neat as it being supported properly from MAPINFO.


how slow is your computer?
because mine loads up the levels right away. so that you dont really even notice
death734
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2005

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Jul 19, 2005 1:43 am

Especially if they don't contain anything except a dummy sector.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Skeletor » Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:35 am

@lk873 - As he stated above, Enjay is already well aware of the MAPINFO lump but this does not allow you to display a message before Map 01 begins.

And although there have been a few good ways of getting round this problem, none of them have been as simple or elegant as a change to MAPINFO that would allow this. I have no idea how complex a change this would be but it just seems like the *right* way to go about it...
User avatar
Skeletor
 
Joined: 04 May 2005

Postby Enjay » Tue Jul 19, 2005 4:51 am

Skeletor wrote:none of them have been as simple or elegant as a change to MAPINFO that would allow this. I have no idea how complex a change this would be but it just seems like the *right* way to go about it...


Yup, that's pretty much my point. However, Graf seems to think it's a lot of work, so perhaps it's just not practical to make this change. :(

My computer doesn't load maps slowly or anything, but I think it is a very clumsy hack to load up a level only to have it exit immediately just so I can show some text. It also means that MAP01 in my WAD is just a box and a script and the real game starts on MAP02. That also strikes me as inelegant.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Next

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest