[Duplicate] Cuztomizable Starting Equipment

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Postby chaoscentral » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:14 pm

libraries, and DECORATE, however, you still need to make a map, that incudes the said library. So go read the wiki about libraries, and in decorate use this as an action ACS_Execute(map, script, arg1, arg2, arg3)
User avatar
chaoscentral
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Location: Revere, MA

Tanx

Postby zdoom » Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:56 pm

thx for that script. It REALLY helped me add some atmosphere to my level.

As for that guy, you can run any script from another map using ARGUMENTS :!:
zdoom
Got the BFG 11K
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2005

Postby Bio Hazard » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:01 am

Well, the way I would do it, I would define an ammo type "ExpPoints" and set its max at ~1000000, Duplicate all the monsters to run A_GiveInventory(ExpPoints,x) when they die and set up all the weapons to shoot bigger shots depending on how many "ExpPoints" you have.

Unless monsters can't A_GiveInventory() to the player...
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby chaoscentral » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:30 am

no, the A_GiveInventory() gives the user the item, so it would give the monster the exp
User avatar
chaoscentral
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Location: Revere, MA

Postby Phobus » Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:06 am

I don't know about the wad bit but whilst playing around with ACS yesterday I definitely saw something to change things in different maps and stuff. So perhaps you can do the map thing.
User avatar
Phobus
Registered Occasional Lurker
 
Joined: 05 May 2005
Location: London

Postby doom2day » Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:00 am

Talonos wrote:Okay. I'll cry uncle and ask.

I'm trying to make a wad that awards you experience points for kills, like, kill a zombieman, get X points. I'll tie your experience levels to your weapons, so as you get XP, you get better weapons, and the ones you do have power up. I also want this to be a wad you could load up with any wad and just be able to use.

It was easy to make a duplicite zombieman that executes a script giving you XP when you die.

But now I can't figure out how to make sure that said scripts are available.

Is there any way to make a lump that will make scripts that can be activated from any map? Is there any way to do this so it can be done from any wad?

Or higher xp points will increase your firing speed.
User avatar
doom2day
So much to learn, so little attention span!
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2005

Postby jallamann » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:23 pm

doom2day wrote:Or higher xp points will increase your firing speed.

That doesn't fit with any kind of even semi-RPG environment.
Agility = speed.
More agility = more speed.
User avatar
jallamann
isn't very active on the forums at all
 
Joined: 24 May 2004
Location: Ålesund, Norway

Postby Belial » Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:52 pm

Making Doomguy even faster? OMG!

I wouldn't recommend playing around with player speed. IMO it has too big of an impact on gameplay.
User avatar
Belial
MC™
 
Joined: 09 Feb 2005

Postby HobbsTiger1 » Mon Jul 11, 2005 4:58 pm

I agree with Belial. I'm well adjusted to playing Doom with the set player speeds (running and walking) and adjusting them either way would just throw me.
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Might be banned
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Location: #DMClub

Postby BouncyTEM » Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:08 pm

I highly approve of this feature suggestion...
although i'll probably see it come to be in 2012. :/
I agre with Belial there, don't mess with the speed, that would throw me off as well.
User avatar
BouncyTEM
All Caps Guy, Maker of Sir Belfin Dramatic Reading Series.
 
Joined: 24 Aug 2003
Location: 2280 Lol Street: The Calamitous Carnival (formerly Senators Prison)

Postby DoomRater » Mon Jul 11, 2005 7:28 pm

An alternate apporach to the problem- make your EXP points an Inventory item. That way you don't need any ACS scripting for the job at all.
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Postby skadoomer » Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:29 pm

ever herd of hquest?
skadoomer
 
Joined: 05 Sep 2003

Postby DoomRater » Mon Jul 11, 2005 8:32 pm

Wait.... I forgot. I dunno if altering speed can be done via DECORATE or not. But the other issue, putting EXP into the weapons should be done with a bit of thinking. I was planning on doing something similar.
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308

Postby chaoscentral » Wed Jul 13, 2005 4:18 am

ANYWAYS... back on topic. I was thinking(thats a first) and I thought, was it possible to just add a flag in DECORATE to just add to weapons, to make it so you start with them like

+STARTEQUIP

or something like that. This seemed like a really good idea at the time, but dont know if it could be implemented or not...
User avatar
chaoscentral
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Location: Revere, MA

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jul 13, 2005 4:24 am

That's not a good idea because it doesn't take the stock items into consideration. This should either be a separate lump or part of MAPINFO - but not part of DECORATE.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest