[Duplicate] Cuztomizable Starting Equipment

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Cuztomizable Starting Equipment

Postby chaoscentral » Sat Jun 18, 2005 5:13 pm

Is this at all possibe. I know this has been asked before, and this really needs to change. At the moment, the only way to change the starting inventory, is by DeHacked or ACS. But what if someone makes a weapon mod just in decorate? If this is at all possible, this needs to be added to the inofficial version. just a thought :shrug:
User avatar
chaoscentral
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Location: Revere, MA

Postby Cutmanmike » Sat Jun 18, 2005 5:37 pm

I approve
User avatar
Cutmanmike
A little bit dead?
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Postby HobbsTiger1 » Sat Jun 18, 2005 5:51 pm

While this would be nice, and certainly one of those things that helps makes Doom comparable to a modern FPS, it would probably not be added for a very long time.
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Might be banned
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Location: #DMClub

Postby chaoscentral » Sat Jun 18, 2005 5:57 pm

probably, but this would be nice to see in the near future...
User avatar
chaoscentral
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Location: Revere, MA

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Jun 18, 2005 6:03 pm

Yes, this is desperately needed. Unfortunately it is beyond the scope of the unofficial build.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby dennisj1 » Sat Jun 18, 2005 10:44 pm

I wouldn't think DEHACKED is needed any more for a modified start inventory, though. Can't it be done with just ACS? (in an OPEN script)

EDIT: oops, not OPEN...to modify the player it'll need to be an ENTER script.
dennisj1
 
Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Location: Superior, WI

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 19, 2005 2:16 am

Yes, it can be done in an ENTER script. But that doesn't account for warping between maps etc. I think what we need here is a new type of script (ENTERGAME or something) that has to be put in a library and is executed every time a game is started. At least such an approach wouldn't necessitate adding more complicated options. Everything else I can think of is too messy to be worth considering and this makes nice use of ZDoom's existing features.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Cutmanmike » Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:38 am

Global scripts anyone?
User avatar
Cutmanmike
A little bit dead?
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:40 am

They are called ACS libraries.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Cutmanmike » Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:43 am

But doesn't that mean you have to make a behaivour lump for EVERY map?
User avatar
Cutmanmike
A little bit dead?
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 19, 2005 8:33 am

Not libraries. Don't tell me you never heard of them! ;)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Cutmanmike » Sun Jun 19, 2005 9:01 am

Of course I have. Hotwax was always moaning about them during the develoment of CTC.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
A little bit dead?
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

I am new to zdoom editing

Postby zdoom » Sat Jul 09, 2005 7:46 pm

I am pretty new to editing, how would you modify the inventory at the start so that the player starts with no guns at all just the fist?
zdoom
Got the BFG 11K
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2005

Postby DomRem » Sat Jul 09, 2005 7:51 pm

It requires a script. I must admit I'm no master at scripting, but this should work(Originally from Doom 3 Weapons Mod):
Code: Select allExpand view
#include "zcommon.acs"

script 998 ENTER
{
   TakeInventory("Pistol", 999);
   GiveInventory("Fists", 1);
   SetWeapon("Fists");
}

script 999 RESPAWN
{
   TakeInventory("Pistol", 999);
   GiveInventory("Fists", 1);
   SetWeapon("Fists");
}
User avatar
DomRem
not DoomRem
 
Joined: 12 May 2005
Location: SporkServ #11 (Coop) >> Scythe 2 <<

Postby Talonos » Sun Jul 10, 2005 8:12 pm

Okay. I'll cry uncle and ask.

I'm trying to make a wad that awards you experience points for kills, like, kill a zombieman, get X points. I'll tie your experience levels to your weapons, so as you get XP, you get better weapons, and the ones you do have power up. I also want this to be a wad you could load up with any wad and just be able to use.

It was easy to make a duplicite zombieman that executes a script giving you XP when you die.

But now I can't figure out how to make sure that said scripts are available.

Is there any way to make a lump that will make scripts that can be activated from any map? Is there any way to do this so it can be done from any wad?
User avatar
Talonos
Returning Newcomer... or Newcoming Returner.
 
Joined: 03 May 2004
Location: At college!

Next

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest