Cuztomizable Starting Equipment

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
chaoscentral
Posts: 677
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 4:32 pm
Location: Revere, MA

Cuztomizable Starting Equipment

Post by chaoscentral »

Is this at all possibe. I know this has been asked before, and this really needs to change. At the moment, the only way to change the starting inventory, is by DeHacked or ACS. But what if someone makes a weapon mod just in decorate? If this is at all possible, this needs to be added to the inofficial version. just a thought :shrug:
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

I approve
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: #DMClub

Post by HobbsTiger1 »

While this would be nice, and certainly one of those things that helps makes Doom comparable to a modern FPS, it would probably not be added for a very long time.
User avatar
chaoscentral
Posts: 677
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 4:32 pm
Location: Revere, MA

Post by chaoscentral »

probably, but this would be nice to see in the near future...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47986
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Yes, this is desperately needed. Unfortunately it is beyond the scope of the unofficial build.
dennisj1
Posts: 399
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 1:46 pm
Location: Superior, WI

Post by dennisj1 »

I wouldn't think DEHACKED is needed any more for a modified start inventory, though. Can't it be done with just ACS? (in an OPEN script)

EDIT: oops, not OPEN...to modify the player it'll need to be an ENTER script.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47986
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Yes, it can be done in an ENTER script. But that doesn't account for warping between maps etc. I think what we need here is a new type of script (ENTERGAME or something) that has to be put in a library and is executed every time a game is started. At least such an approach wouldn't necessitate adding more complicated options. Everything else I can think of is too messy to be worth considering and this makes nice use of ZDoom's existing features.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

Global scripts anyone?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47986
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

They are called ACS libraries.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

But doesn't that mean you have to make a behaivour lump for EVERY map?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47986
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Not libraries. Don't tell me you never heard of them! ;)
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11255
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Cutmanmike »

Of course I have. Hotwax was always moaning about them during the develoment of CTC.
zdoom
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:09 am

I am new to zdoom editing

Post by zdoom »

I am pretty new to editing, how would you modify the inventory at the start so that the player starts with no guns at all just the fist?
User avatar
DomRem
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: SporkServ #11 (Coop) >> Scythe 2 <<

Post by DomRem »

It requires a script. I must admit I'm no master at scripting, but this should work(Originally from Doom 3 Weapons Mod):

Code: Select all

#include "zcommon.acs"

script 998 ENTER
{
	TakeInventory("Pistol", 999);
	GiveInventory("Fists", 1);
	SetWeapon("Fists");
}

script 999 RESPAWN
{
	TakeInventory("Pistol", 999);
	GiveInventory("Fists", 1);
	SetWeapon("Fists");
}
User avatar
Talonos
Posts: 789
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 7:08 am
Location: At college!

Post by Talonos »

Okay. I'll cry uncle and ask.

I'm trying to make a wad that awards you experience points for kills, like, kill a zombieman, get X points. I'll tie your experience levels to your weapons, so as you get XP, you get better weapons, and the ones you do have power up. I also want this to be a wad you could load up with any wad and just be able to use.

It was easy to make a duplicite zombieman that executes a script giving you XP when you die.

But now I can't figure out how to make sure that said scripts are available.

Is there any way to make a lump that will make scripts that can be activated from any map? Is there any way to do this so it can be done from any wad?

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions”