[DIY] AppImage or Flatpak

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: AppImage or Flatpak

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Sep 26, 2019 12:11 am

Indeed. All I can say is "Why not?"
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: AppImage or Flatpak

Postby axredneck » Thu Sep 26, 2019 7:14 am

Blzut3 wrote:Auto updates are the right thing to do most of the time, but occasionally there are ...

... incompatibility of save files.
But you can update flatpaks manually. I don't know about other distros but on Arch flatpaks don't update automatically.
User avatar
axredneck
excuse me for my bad English
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2017
Location: Russia
Github ID: axredneck
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: AppImage or Flatpak

Postby Eonfge » Thu Sep 26, 2019 7:20 am

It's worth noting that any of you could also have a maintainer status if you so desire. In that case, even if I catch a bus, you can keep pushing updates. You'll not even need much flatpak knowledge to maintain the current deployment.

It's totally possible of cause to make stand-alone bundles for archive purposes: http://docs.flatpak.org/en/latest/singl ... ndles.html

Shell script that should make a package based on the current master:
Code: Select allExpand view
git clone https://github.com/flathub/org.zdoom.GZDoom.git
cd ./org.zdoom.GZDoom/
flatpak-builder build-dir/ org.zdoom.GZDoom.yaml --force-clean
flatpak-builder --repo=repo --force-clean build-dir org.zdoom.GZDoom.yaml
flatpak build-bundle ./repo GZDoom.flatpak org.zdoom.GZDoom


I'm not sure how your back-end works, but it should not be hard to integrate this in an existing build server.
Eonfge
 
Joined: 10 Sep 2019
Github ID: https://github.com/eonfge
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: AppImage or Flatpak

Postby The Bright Side » Sat Apr 18, 2020 9:38 am

Hey guys, speaking of flatpak... I installed the GZDoom flatpak on my Linux Mint 19.3 system today to tinker around with it and it doesn't work very well. Whenever I run it, it asks for my IWADs. It won't look in the folder that I put into the gzdoom.ini.

It also won't accept any command line parameters, either. For instance:
flatpak run org.zdoom.GZDoom -iwad /home/thebrightside/Games/GZDoom/IWADs/DOOM.wad

It still asks me for my IWADs.

Has anybody been able to get it to work?

The only thing I can manage is to put the IWADs right into ~/.var/app/org.zdoom.GZDoom/.config/gzdoom, but then I can only play vanilla DOOM since no other command line parameters work. :-/
The Bright Side
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2016

Re: AppImage or Flatpak

Postby The Bright Side » Sat Apr 18, 2020 11:49 am

Also, just to follow up real quick... I just read through this entire thread and wanted to say thanks to Eonfge for maintaining this flatpak, and for your ambitions to push other id Games source ports to flathub! I, for one, am grateful they're there.
The Bright Side
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2016

Previous

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests