Page 1 of 1

Spawn player at height of starting point.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:20 am
by Ian Maxwell
Particularly now that people are using bridge things all over the place, it would be nice to have a simple way to start the player at something other than the floor of the sector. Currently, givin the player start a height other than zero doesn't acomplish this. If that could be changed, it would be the most intuitive way to set the player's starting height from the floor. (Likewise for all other spawnspots, if that's not already how they work.)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:21 am
by TheDarkArchon
Try altering the ZHeight of the start (Hexen format only).

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:30 am
by Graf Zahl
Doesn't work. Players are always spawned on the floor.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:32 am
by TheDarkArchon
Hack: Teleport as soon as the level starts.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 4:28 pm
by anonone
Or, prop the player start up on one of those bridge objects and remove it with an ACS script at the map opening.

Or, use an instant-lift instead of a bridge object, using ACS to lower it right at the map opening.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:53 pm
by Ian Maxwell
Altering the ZHeight does not work, as I said in the original post.

Using the bridge thing does not work, because altering the ZHeight does not work. The player spawns on the floor of the sector, not on top of the highest thing there.

The instant lift and teleport might work, but they are in fact hacks. I think the teleport in particular might look downright ugly, with the player seeing the screen load and then instantly being propelled into the air.

Having the player spawn at the ZHeight of the player start would be the Right Thing.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:40 pm
by farlowj
Hmm, borrowing some John Carmack lingo there.

Instead of the floor lower instant thing, put the player start in a black room, with black walls and stuff while the level loads, then teleport. Make sure the player can't see anything in the starting room, or it ruins the effect, but it should work, without messing with floor heights and stuff.