[Not needed] Extend defined length of frames

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Extend defined length of frames

Postby Apeirogon » Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:03 pm

Looks like gzdoom accept, at least dont crash, frames which out from the range of range defined by the A-Z letters 0-26.
So, maybe it is possible to increase amount of sprites which use same name by increasing diapason of allowed frames?

Yes I know that now gzdoom can have 37 ^ 5, or so, sprites, but it become a torture to maintain and develop mod which use actors with high detailed, silky smooth (which means it have HUGE amount of sprites for one actor) sprite animations, or even models.
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Postby Cherno » Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:29 pm

I started identifying actors with lots of frames by three letters instead of four and then increment the laster letter by one, like

POSA, POSB, POSC,...

where POSA has idle, walking and running frames,
POSB has melee and ranged attack frames,
POSC has pain and death frames, and so on.
User avatar
Cherno
 
Joined: 06 Dec 2016

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Mar 22, 2019 2:41 pm

This is really not needed.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Postby Apeirogon » Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:32 am

Graf Zahl wrote:This is really not needed.

Why? Its help maintain and develop mods with great amount of animations per actor.
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:37 am

You can easily use multiple sprite names here. Extending this table is not that simple.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Postby Enjay » Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:02 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:You can easily use multiple sprite names here.


Indeed. Nice and easy to do.

From my Genetech mod:
Code: Select allExpand view
    Spawn1:
    MOD1 ABCDEFGHIJ 4 A_Look
    Goto Spawn1
   
    Spawn2:
    MODA ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQR 4 A_Look
    Goto Spawn2
   
    Spawn3:
    MODB ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQR 4 A_Look
    Goto Spawn3
   
    Spawn4:
    MODC ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQR 4 A_Look
    Goto Spawn4


The above code snippet uses sprites called MOD1, MODA, MODB and MODC. When you are using models, you often need much greater numbers of sprite names than with sprite-based enemies. The full actor above uses even more.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Extend defined length of frames

Postby Apeirogon » Mon Apr 01, 2019 6:30 am

Since I dont know english well, I cant quickly remember between what letters placed letter, for example, "j". So I just use qwerty...and so on instead of spite and frame names for models.
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest