[No] Refresh rate list

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Refresh rate list

Postby invictius » Sun Mar 10, 2019 6:31 am

I've been playing around with higher refresh monitors (Wish I could afford a decent sized one) and gz seems to just use the desktop refresh, even if the resolution is different. A fair amount of games over the years have had this feature, is it possible to implement this?
invictius
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2012

Re: Refresh rate list

Postby Rachael » Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:17 am

You must be using the legacy version if that's even relevant to you. GZDoom does not work that way anymore. The legacy version will see no further render-specific feature improvements.

GZDoom now works by setting its draw scaling to a desired resolution, not the actual monitor resolution.

The refresh rate and actual resolution now must be set with an external tool.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Refresh rate list

Postby nazakomu » Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:50 pm

Rachael wrote:The refresh rate and actual resolution now must be set with an external tool.

Can you recommend any tools for this?
User avatar
nazakomu
iddqd
 
Joined: 30 Nov 2016
Discord: Nazakomu#2197

Re: Refresh rate list

Postby Rachael » Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:43 pm

nazakomu wrote:Can you recommend any tools for this?

None that are user-friendly because I don't use that a lot. I have a "swiss army knife" command line tool that can do it though.

Probably the best thing to do is go into the control panel and go to Display (or use start->run->"desk.cpl") and change it on the dialog that pops up there.

If you want the command line tool, I use something called "nircmd" which is capable of achieving the same thing - but it's the "swiss army knife" tool I mentioned earlier, so the number of options it has is sure to overwhelm anyone who is only interested in one thing. The command is designed to be used in batch scripts.

User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Refresh rate list

Postby invictius » Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:19 pm

Rachael wrote:
nazakomu wrote:Can you recommend any tools for this?

None that are user-friendly because I don't use that a lot. I have a "swiss army knife" command line tool that can do it though.

Probably the best thing to do is go into the control panel and go to Display (or use start->run->"desk.cpl") and change it on the dialog that pops up there.

If you want the command line tool, I use something called "nircmd" which is capable of achieving the same thing - but it's the "swiss army knife" tool I mentioned earlier, so the number of options it has is sure to overwhelm anyone who is only interested in one thing. The command is designed to be used in batch scripts.



Wouldn't the nvidia or amd control panel do this? I used it to get 640x480 100hz but that was on xp.
invictius
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2012

Re: Refresh rate list

Postby Rachael » Sun Mar 10, 2019 11:20 pm

.... if you want...
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests