Page 1 of 2

Resurrect console command

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 9:18 pm
by CtrlAltDestroy
I'd like a simple console command that resurrects you if you die. It would simply restore your life to 100 and stand you back up, with no other changes to the map's state. It would be extremely useful for map testing.

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 10:06 pm
by HobbsTiger1
Not really, just use iddqd. If you need to be damaged then you should go through the map, and if you die iddqd until you get to where you where and iddqd again (turning it off)

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 10:13 pm
by Risen
Actually, I agree that it would be useful.

But it's certainly not necessary, or anything I'd even consider a priority.

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 10:16 pm
by CtrlAltDestroy
Not really, just use iddqd. If you need to be damaged then you should go through the map, and if you die iddqd until you get to where you where and iddqd again (turning it off)


My point exactly. That is annoying and time consuming, and a resurrect command would be a wonderful shortcut. I mean, you can practically do everything else with the console.

It doesn't seem like it would be a difficult feature to add, anyway.

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 10:33 pm
by HobbsTiger1
While it would be nice to have those of us with more patience don't care that much. I may come off as a bit...ah assholeish when I say this but I origionally thought when I read this "don't die" and that was it. Then reason kicked in and I posted what my second thought was. No matter what my thought is, it may be a nice to have, but not a need to have most definetly.

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 11:09 pm
by Sir_Alien
Someone (Risen or Nightmare or maybe someone else...) said that having two keybinds, one to give 100 points of health and the other to give you a certain amount of ammo (100 bullets, 50 shells perhaps) is the best idea.

It's a great way to test your map. You can record how many times you've used each bind, and that will give you an idea of how much more health/ammo your map requires.

I use it, and it's perfect.

Also, it's pretty much what you want, only more practical and effective.

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 2:22 am
by Cutmanmike
Sir_Alien wrote:Someone (Risen or Nightmare or maybe someone else...) said that having two keybinds, one to give 100 points of health and the other to give you a certain amount of ammo (100 bullets, 50 shells perhaps) is the best idea.

It's a great way to test your map. You can record how many times you've used each bind, and that will give you an idea of how much more health/ammo your map requires.

I use it, and it's perfect.

Also, it's pretty much what you want, only more practical and effective.


So hurry up and show us the perfectness

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 6:10 am
by Risen
Sir_Alien wrote:Someone (Risen or Nightmare or maybe someone else...)


It was me. That's the method I use to test with, and is quite good enough on its own. It's also more accurate than this would be. However, if you get hit too fast, it can't save you.

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 7:44 am
by Sir_Alien
Still, it's a great idea and works very well.

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 8:28 am
by Cutmanmike
addbot; removebots

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 6:21 pm
by Bio Hazard
cutmanmike wrote:addbot; removebots

That works, But then you have to get back to wherever you were

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2005 4:36 am
by Enjay
A resurrect comand would be useful IMO. I have been testing maps many times and died somewhere inconvenient. OK, I know about aliases and key bindings, and I know that perhaps I should save more often in these circumstances, but resurrect would really help.

13 hours

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 10:36 am
by Hirogen2
CtrlAltDestroy wrote:My point exactly. That is annoying and time consuming, and a resurrect command would be a wonderful shortcut. I mean, you can practically do everything else with the console..

That would defeat the purpose of savegames! You can't do that, Doom would not be "classic" anymore!

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 11:09 am
by Risen
Who cares? It would obviously be classed as a cheat.

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2005 3:05 pm
by Cutmanmike
Bio Hazard wrote:
cutmanmike wrote:addbot; removebots

That works, But then you have to get back to wherever you were


Noclip