Page 1 of 1

Railings in Doom

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 3:14 am
by Graf Zahl
Since Strife's railing flag can't be accessed in the other games, how about this:

Code: Select allExpand view
      case PCD_SETLINEBLOCKING:
         {
            int line = -1;

            while ((line = P_FindLineFromID (STACK(2), line)) >= 0)
            {
               switch (STACK(1))
               {
               case BLOCK_NOTHING:
                  lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_BLOCKING|ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING|ML_RAILING);
                  break;
               case BLOCK_CREATURES:
               default:
                  lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING|ML_RAILING);
                  lines[line].flags |= ML_BLOCKING;
                  break;
               case BLOCK_EVERYTHING:
                  lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_RAILING);
                  lines[line].flags |= ML_BLOCKING|ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING;
                  break;
               case BLOCK_RAILING:
                  lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING);
                  lines[line].flags |= ML_RAILING|ML_BLOCKING;
                  break;
               }
            }

            sp -= 2;
         }
         break;



Of course Strife's lower side hack should be restricted to Strife then (and best to non-Hexen format maps as well!)

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 11:24 am
by Risen
Yes, please!

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 12:06 pm
by Hirogen2
And what's the flag in the doom editor that needs to be set for railing?

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 1:12 pm
by Nmn
Variable height for railings without using the bridge things or Boom tricks? Oh yeah...

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2005 1:35 pm
by Graf Zahl
Hirogen2 wrote:And what's the flag in the doom editor that needs to be set for railing?


None. That's the problem. It's a Strife flag that's inaccessible in the other games because the flag word is full.

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 3:30 am
by Hirogen2
/* Heh, heh */
Design a new map format :p

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:03 am
by Graf Zahl
Then an ACS option still would be useful.

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:44 am
by Cutmanmike
Risen wrote:Yes, please!

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2005 11:05 pm
by David Ferstat
Sounds like a fairly easy way to give a useful function to the mapper.

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 12:56 pm
by Hirogen2
Why not just:
another sector, 242 (209 in Z-mode) and a mid texture with y = -someNumber

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:00 pm
by Graf Zahl
Maybe because it needs another sector (2 to be precise) for each railing?

That is needless geometry that adds up in large maps.

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2005 7:58 am
by Grubber