Page 1 of 1

Railings in Doom

Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 3:14 am
by Graf Zahl
Since Strife's railing flag can't be accessed in the other games, how about this:

Code: Select all

		case PCD_SETLINEBLOCKING:
			{
				int line = -1;

				while ((line = P_FindLineFromID (STACK(2), line)) >= 0)
				{
					switch (STACK(1))
					{
					case BLOCK_NOTHING:
						lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_BLOCKING|ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING|ML_RAILING);
						break;
					case BLOCK_CREATURES:
					default:
						lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING|ML_RAILING);
						lines[line].flags |= ML_BLOCKING;
						break;
					case BLOCK_EVERYTHING:
						lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_RAILING);
						lines[line].flags |= ML_BLOCKING|ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING;
						break;
					case BLOCK_RAILING:
						lines[line].flags &= ~(ML_BLOCKEVERYTHING);
						lines[line].flags |= ML_RAILING|ML_BLOCKING;
						break;
					}
				}

				sp -= 2;
			}
			break;

Of course Strife's lower side hack should be restricted to Strife then (and best to non-Hexen format maps as well!)

Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 11:24 am
by Risen
Yes, please!

Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 12:06 pm
by Hirogen2
And what's the flag in the doom editor that needs to be set for railing?

Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 1:12 pm
by Nmn
Variable height for railings without using the bridge things or Boom tricks? Oh yeah...

Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 1:35 pm
by Graf Zahl
Hirogen2 wrote:And what's the flag in the doom editor that needs to be set for railing?
None. That's the problem. It's a Strife flag that's inaccessible in the other games because the flag word is full.

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 3:30 am
by Hirogen2
/* Heh, heh */
Design a new map format :p

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:03 am
by Graf Zahl
Then an ACS option still would be useful.

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 5:44 am
by Cutmanmike
Risen wrote:Yes, please!

Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 11:05 pm
by David Ferstat
Sounds like a fairly easy way to give a useful function to the mapper.

Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 12:56 pm
by Hirogen2
Why not just:
another sector, 242 (209 in Z-mode) and a mid texture with y = -someNumber

Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:00 pm
by Graf Zahl
Maybe because it needs another sector (2 to be precise) for each railing?

That is needless geometry that adds up in large maps.

Posted: Wed May 25, 2005 7:58 am
by Grubber