Page 1 of 1

Game compatibility

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 10:15 am
by Daniel
Of course this is very hard to do, but the compatibility of ZDoom and the other Doom Engine games are very good. Don't BFG me because I said that:

COMPATIBILITY WITH KEN SILVERMAN'S BUILD ENGINE GAMES!!!!

The graphics, music and sound are very friendly with Doom Engine, but the map format and sector specials would be the hardest (and EVIL) part of the work. Imagine the games that will have a compatibility with ZDoom:

Duke Nukem, Redneck Rampage, Shadow Warrior, Outlaws, Blood, Witchaven 1 and 2...

It's only a suggestion. I know it is far to be released, but it isn't impossible... maybe in ZDoom 9.0 523a....

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 10:26 am
by Graf Zahl
Randy himself said that the internal handling of the engine is far too different for any chance to do this. It will probably never happen.

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 10:31 am
by Daniel
It's just a dream... but the Build Engine is not so far from the Doom engine.

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 10:47 am
by Graf Zahl
Far enough to make it problematic.

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 12:22 pm
by HobbsTiger1
The entire problem with this feature being implemented is contained in the first post. ZDoom uses the Doom engine, these games use the Build engine. AFAIK they don't even use the same file types (wad files) so that would be a big problem. If my memory serves the Build engine was baed heavily off the Doom engine, but was enhanced enough that it could not be easily implemented into modern source ports (ZDoom as an example).

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 12:30 pm
by Graf Zahl
The problem is more that the non-rendering code is completely different. THe file types are not an issue and ZDoom can even read Build maps. But you can't simply merge the game physics code together and hope that it all works.

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 12:31 pm
by Enjay
@HobbsTiger1: All true, but (IIRC) Zdoom can already load Build levels (at least Duke ones and maybe Blood I think) and let you look around. Nothing more than that works, and that's a long, long way from supporting the games, but it's interesting none the less.

[edit]Graf beat me to some of that[/edit]

7

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 7:44 pm
by alien3456
As far as I know, this is called ZDoom, not ZBuild. Or ZOneStopSourcePort... :roll:

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2005 9:52 pm
by wildweasel
There are always JonoF's Duke and Shadow Warrior ports. As for Blood, it can be run through a modern OS, but it takes a bit of work.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 1:06 am
by randi
HobbsTiger1 wrote:If my memory serves the Build engine was baed heavily off the Doom engine, but was enhanced

Build is not based on Doom at all, unless you consider a phone call between John Carmack and Ken Silverman where Carmack suggested Silverman use sectors to be enough to establish a connection between the two engines. Up until then, the Build engine used raycasting like the Wolfenstein and Ken's Labyrinth engines.

Re: Game compatibility

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 2:18 am
by David Ferstat
Daniel wrote:... Duke Nukem, Redneck Rampage, Shadow Warrior, Outlaws, Blood, Witchaven 1 and 2...


I'm sorry, but to the best of my knowledge LucasArts' Outlaws used an in-house engine. Unless, of course, you're talking about another game, but I don't know any other FPS of about the same era called Outlaws. :)

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 3:07 am
by NiGHTMARE
I just want a port for Exhumed/Powerslave :). It won't work properly even with DosBox.

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 11:52 am
by HobbsTiger1
@Randy, thats the last time I listen to Surbs for anything. He told me Duke and Blood were based off of Doom, but had extra features (Surbs is my best friend and, well, big retro gamer).

Sorry for the misinformation, and forgive me if I don't show up for a while, I do belive you get arrested for domestic disturbance :wink:

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2005 3:04 pm
by DoomRater
NiGHTMARE wrote:I just want a port for Exhumed/Powerslave :). It won't work properly even with DosBox.


A quick shot, have you tried using NTFS4DOS? That might get you a native DOS environment in which to run it, with some clever use of modded 98 boot disks and the right DOS drivers.