[No] Game compatibility

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Game compatibility

Postby Daniel » Wed May 11, 2005 11:15 am

Of course this is very hard to do, but the compatibility of ZDoom and the other Doom Engine games are very good. Don't BFG me because I said that:

COMPATIBILITY WITH KEN SILVERMAN'S BUILD ENGINE GAMES!!!!

The graphics, music and sound are very friendly with Doom Engine, but the map format and sector specials would be the hardest (and EVIL) part of the work. Imagine the games that will have a compatibility with ZDoom:

Duke Nukem, Redneck Rampage, Shadow Warrior, Outlaws, Blood, Witchaven 1 and 2...

It's only a suggestion. I know it is far to be released, but it isn't impossible... maybe in ZDoom 9.0 523a....
User avatar
Daniel
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2004

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed May 11, 2005 11:26 am

Randy himself said that the internal handling of the engine is far too different for any chance to do this. It will probably never happen.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Daniel » Wed May 11, 2005 11:31 am

It's just a dream... but the Build Engine is not so far from the Doom engine.
User avatar
Daniel
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2004

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed May 11, 2005 11:47 am

Far enough to make it problematic.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby HobbsTiger1 » Wed May 11, 2005 1:22 pm

The entire problem with this feature being implemented is contained in the first post. ZDoom uses the Doom engine, these games use the Build engine. AFAIK they don't even use the same file types (wad files) so that would be a big problem. If my memory serves the Build engine was baed heavily off the Doom engine, but was enhanced enough that it could not be easily implemented into modern source ports (ZDoom as an example).
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Might be banned
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Location: #DMClub

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed May 11, 2005 1:30 pm

The problem is more that the non-rendering code is completely different. THe file types are not an issue and ZDoom can even read Build maps. But you can't simply merge the game physics code together and hope that it all works.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Enjay » Wed May 11, 2005 1:31 pm

@HobbsTiger1: All true, but (IIRC) Zdoom can already load Build levels (at least Duke ones and maybe Blood I think) and let you look around. Nothing more than that works, and that's a long, long way from supporting the games, but it's interesting none the less.

[edit]Graf beat me to some of that[/edit]

7
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby alien3456 » Wed May 11, 2005 8:44 pm

As far as I know, this is called ZDoom, not ZBuild. Or ZOneStopSourcePort... :roll:
User avatar
alien3456
Waiting for KDiZD
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Location: Puppy Palace

Postby wildweasel » Wed May 11, 2005 10:52 pm

There are always JonoF's Duke and Shadow Warrior ports. As for Blood, it can be run through a modern OS, but it takes a bit of work.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Postby randi » Thu May 12, 2005 2:06 am

HobbsTiger1 wrote:If my memory serves the Build engine was baed heavily off the Doom engine, but was enhanced

Build is not based on Doom at all, unless you consider a phone call between John Carmack and Ken Silverman where Carmack suggested Silverman use sectors to be enough to establish a connection between the two engines. Up until then, the Build engine used raycasting like the Wolfenstein and Ken's Labyrinth engines.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Re: Game compatibility

Postby David Ferstat » Thu May 12, 2005 3:18 am

Daniel wrote:... Duke Nukem, Redneck Rampage, Shadow Warrior, Outlaws, Blood, Witchaven 1 and 2...


I'm sorry, but to the best of my knowledge LucasArts' Outlaws used an in-house engine. Unless, of course, you're talking about another game, but I don't know any other FPS of about the same era called Outlaws. :)
User avatar
David Ferstat
Oh dear, I think you'll find reality is on the blink again.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Postby NiGHTMARE » Thu May 12, 2005 4:07 am

I just want a port for Exhumed/Powerslave :). It won't work properly even with DosBox.
NiGHTMARE
.now.
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003

Postby HobbsTiger1 » Thu May 12, 2005 12:52 pm

@Randy, thats the last time I listen to Surbs for anything. He told me Duke and Blood were based off of Doom, but had extra features (Surbs is my best friend and, well, big retro gamer).

Sorry for the misinformation, and forgive me if I don't show up for a while, I do belive you get arrested for domestic disturbance :wink:
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Might be banned
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Location: #DMClub

Postby DoomRater » Fri May 20, 2005 4:04 pm

NiGHTMARE wrote:I just want a port for Exhumed/Powerslave :). It won't work properly even with DosBox.


A quick shot, have you tried using NTFS4DOS? That might get you a native DOS environment in which to run it, with some clever use of modded 98 boot disks and the right DOS drivers.
User avatar
DoomRater
Hi, I'm bob.
 
Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Location: WATR HQ
Discord: DoomRater#6308


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest