Page 4 of 4

Re: Stipple (aka Dither) Shader

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:22 pm
by drfrag
Sorry for the bump but finally i've ported this to LZDoom, the static array not the texture version. It could go into the vintage build as well.
The texture version doesn't work, i guess that one requires hw_postprocess. In any case i don't know how to specify the layout for the DitherTexture outside of the shader.
I've found a minor problem: the texunit parameter for BindDitherTexture is not used.

It's here:
https://github.com/drfrag666/gzdoom/com ... 007e7a3285
https://github.com/drfrag666/gzdoom/commits/dither2

Re: Stipple (aka Dither) Shader

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:26 pm
by Rachael
It's a bad idea to do the static array version. Intel processors do not handle that gracefully, anyone activating it will suffer a massive FPS drop. It's better to not have it at all, than to have a half-finished version.

Re: Stipple (aka Dither) Shader

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:29 pm
by drfrag
Probably but then they could disable it. On my GT 710 i get the same performance with it enabled. I find curious that the difference is noticeable on my CRT.
Any clues on why the texture version doesn't work? Thanks.