[No] Long sprite names

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: Long sprite names

Postby Xeotroid » Thu May 26, 2022 10:33 am

Sorry about necroing a four year old post, but I wasn't sure if a new feature suggestion would be a good idea since it would be mostly a duplicate. However, could a different approach work? Instead of trying to implement long sprite names in the States block or using folder paths as sprite name parts, what if the States block stayed the same, but the namespace where to look for sprites was customisable using an actor property?

Think of a folder structure like this:
Code: Select allExpand view
sprites
├spacelab
│├BOOKA0.png
│└BOOKB0.png
└medieval
 ├BOOKA0.png
 └BOOKB0.png

Then, in the actor definition, a SpriteNamespace property could be used that specifies the folder to look in, in this case either "sprites/spacelab" or "sprites/medieval", eg.:
Code: Select allExpand view
Default {
   SpriteNamespace "sprites/spacelab";
}
States {
Spawn:
   BOOK A -1;
   Stop;
}

Perhaps the "namespace" could be limited to the sprites folder, and the property would translate to an index offset for the list of sprites?
User avatar
Xeotroid
 
Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Location: Czech Rep.
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Long sprite names

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu May 26, 2022 10:41 am

Sorry, but the way sorites are looked up does not allow any of this. We'd had to change the entire sprite loader to do it. That's not really worth it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Long sprite names

Postby Xeotroid » Thu May 26, 2022 5:33 pm

Understood, it was worth a shot at least.
I guess then the different syntax suggestions are irrelevant, because the issue doesn't really concern how the States block is written, right? Is it also why with MODELDEF it's possible for two actors with two different models to share the same frame names without issues – because models are loaded and organised completely differently?
User avatar
Xeotroid
 
Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Location: Czech Rep.
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Long sprite names

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu May 26, 2022 11:50 pm

If it was that easy the feature would have been done long ago...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Previous

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests