Page 1 of 1

3 and 4x scale renderer

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:51 pm
by invictius
I do a lot of tests that require putting a load on the gpu that's higher than maximum resolution (particularly with boom/vanilla maps) and was just wondering if this would be easy to implement if the scale function is in there already.

Re: 3 and 4x scale renderer

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:34 pm
by Graf Zahl
It would be just as easy to to as 2x scaling, but you are forgetting something: The linear filter cannot filter this down to the display, you'd have to do it in multiple steps. Also, with today's screen sizes this very quickly becomes unmanageable. Not worth bothering.

Re: 3 and 4x scale renderer

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:04 am
by Rachael
Imagine 4x on 4k resolutions. Actually don't - I'm not interested in boiling pasta on my GPU. :twisted:

Re: 3 and 4x scale renderer

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:27 am
by invictius
Rachael wrote:Imagine 4x on 4k resolutions. Actually don't - I'm not interested in boiling pasta on my GPU. :twisted:


Is 4k using the software renderer impractical on the average pc? I recall being told that it's a lot of pixels to push around, but nothing more than that.

Re: 3 and 4x scale renderer

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:34 am
by Rachael
No, it works (at least vanilla Doom does), but it's not a perfect 60 FPS. But it's still playable if that doesn't bother you.