[No] Custom tick duration

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Custom tick duration

Postby Apeirogon » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:43 am

Because some actions, llike effects, which those means to be done very quickly, or shoting from very fast shoting guns, with current tick duratons looks twitching.
And I dont say "give fractional tick duration", becaus this break all existing mod. I say "give opportunity change ammount of microseconds in tick of some defined actor".

Or this already can be done from modder side?
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Custom tick duration

Postby Rachael » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:57 am

The engine does not work this way.

Events happen once every 35th of a second - full stop. Nothing can even happen in between these tics, and even if they could it would bog the sim processing down way too much.
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Custom tick duration

Postby Gez » Tue Mar 06, 2018 1:42 pm

At most it could be feasible to define a global tic duration in something like GAMEINFO. This has sometimes been mentioned on the subject of things such as emulating PSX Doom and Doom 64 accurately, since they used 30 tics per second instead of 35.

But even with that, tics would have a global, fixed length throughout the game. You can't change that value at run-time, and you definitely can't change it selectively for just one actor.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Custom tick duration

Postby Rachael » Wed Mar 07, 2018 12:12 am

Even with that, we'd need sane maximum values.

I was considering something like that for possibly in the future for if I was adding support for more games, but no promises there, though.
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Custom tick duration

Postby Apeirogon » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:21 am

Rachael wrote: more games

Like what? Blood? Nuke dukem?
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Custom tick duration

Postby _mental_ » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:36 am

Crap load of things depend on TICRATE. Let's hope there are no hard-coded magic numbers related to it. Also, netplay will require the same value for all nodes.
Actually, changing #define and ZScript constant to variables is not a big deal. Amount of effort to make it work properly is an open question though.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Custom tick duration

Postby Rachael » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:38 am

There's also a lot of areas in the code where 35/sec is actually hardcoded. A lot of programmers over the years have forgotten or been ignorant of the existence of the TICRATE #define.

Bagheadspidey before he disappeared apparently managed to turn it into a CVar but that was well over 8 years ago.
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest