[Added] Automap Line Thickness

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Automap Line Thickness

Postby Hellser » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:08 am

As the title says, I think it might be useful to have a line thickness option for the automap - both to replicate the old chunky look of Doom back in the day, and also for high resolution monitors - where the line thickness might be too thin and hard to read.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 11
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Nash » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:17 am

I can barely see the automap anymore on 1920x1200, unless I use a high contrast colour scheme (like the Doom preset - at the expense of custom lock colours!).

On 4k the automap lines might as well be invisible.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Hypersonic » Thu Jan 04, 2018 11:09 pm

Once I found out about the textured automap in GZDoom I never went back to the just vector map (didn't Duke Nukem 3D have textured map as well?) Though lines are still there, and they show up just fine even on a 4K 24" display at about a meter away. Though the contrast with the textures probably helps. I like the fact that the lines maintain the same thinness irrespective of the zoom level.
Hypersonic
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2017

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Hellser » Fri Jan 05, 2018 12:31 am

I find the textured automap to be distracting. I suppose for most players, that'll work fine. I think for Nash and I - the classic vector map is how things should be.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 11
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby De-M-oN » Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:43 am

I have no problem with 2560x1600
but I use "traditional doom" colors though, means the classic black background with red wall lines. I highly prefer that over the beige background.
User avatar
De-M-oN
 
Joined: 26 May 2008

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Hypersonic » Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:32 am

Textures can help quickly orient you. Say you have 2 rooms the same size and shape, they could easily be confused with each-other, but if they have different floor textures you can easily tell them apart.
Hypersonic
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2017

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Rip and Tear » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:56 pm

The CVAR gl_aalines enables antialiasing for the Automap, which I personally found made the lines easier to see.
User avatar
Rip and Tear
I <3 ZScript
 
Joined: 02 May 2017
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.8 or later
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Caleb13 » Fri Aug 16, 2019 4:26 pm

I'm bumping this thread because I've also run into this issue today. We have new 24 inch 4K monitors in my workplace, so naturally, I tried GZdoom on one. And... the automap lines are practically invisible - these monitors have 0,14 mm pixel pitch, which means the lines are 0,14 mm thick. From the recommended viewing distance (90 cm), they look more like hair on a beige lamp. I had to lower the resolution to 1366x768 to view the map without eye strain.
User avatar
Caleb13
Death will not be your end; your soul will burn in Hell forever!
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2010

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Fri Aug 16, 2019 4:32 pm

gl_aalines is supposed to work? I never got it to do anything.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Caleb13 » Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:31 am

If you ever decide to add the automap scaling, please don't forget to scale the markers, too. The "large" marker font is actually rather small even on mediocre resolutions like 1366x768.
User avatar
Caleb13
Death will not be your end; your soul will burn in Hell forever!
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2010

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby NightFright » Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:32 am

Signed. I also wouldn't mind having automap scaling. Even making it possible to write a downscaling shader for it like ToridGristle did with the RetroShader (for scene rendering) would already be something.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Nash » Thu Oct 21, 2021 2:13 am

Better late than never... :mrgreen:
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Thu Oct 21, 2021 2:17 am

Having used the line thickness feature for a while now, I feel like it does have some small "catches", namely corners. I wonder if it'd be possible to tweak drawthickline to have "caps" at each end of the line so those gaps on corners are less visible.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Automap Line Thickness

Postby Gutawer » Mon Oct 25, 2021 4:39 am

Putting semicircles on the end of lines would work but it should also certainly be an argument in the function rather than just changing its behavior - it does also technically run the risk of overestimating how big a line is but given that most people will run this at a few pixels width that shouldn't be a big deal.
User avatar
Gutawer
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2016
Discord: Gutawer#3431


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests