Page 2 of 2

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 4:09 am
by _mental_
These benchmark results are completely useless. Please read carefully my initial request.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:47 am
by drfrag
You need to run bench three times in a row like _mental_ said under the same circumstances. Make sure nothing is running in the background, specially the microsoft antivirus.

On ZDoom32 i actually expected you to bench the GL renderer, the bench command only works for the hardware renderer. Try with 'vid_renderer 1' or setting the video menu renderer option to OpenGL. For software the SSE2 executable would give you better performance. That's the old dpJudas truecolor renderer BTW.
cortlong50 wrote: surprisingly it rendered all the 3d floors and all that good shit and taht was pretty impressive seeing that in the zdoom style rendering.

That's actually very interesting, are you sure 3D floors are working with 'r_truecolor 1' and 'vid_renderer 0'? AFAIK they are broken in truecolor, or may be this could be a driver problem? I've tried both intel and ati and i think that's impossible. I assumed Kappes Buur tried paletted mode since he said 'default settings'. Could you please try any of his two wads here then?
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=37508#p713035
It could be very helpful, thanks.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:30 pm
by cortlong50
benches from 3.2.4.

Spoiler:



benches from 3.0.0


Spoiler:


a consistent 4-5 FPS difference in the same area and among the entire map.
some drops dipping as low as 15 below what 3.0.0 was getting. nothing open. completely fresh reboot. extremely taxing room. did my best to line up the shot. only postprocessing feature on is bloom.

Dr.Frag, i will give your engine a test at a later time. im not in the mood to keep dealing with this at the moment. its been one of those days.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:23 am
by _mental_
Once again: location must be exactly the same. Not almost, not approximately, but exactly the same.
Same position, same angle, same state of all actors, save everything.
The best way to get this state is to load saved game with all monsters being idle.

In your benchmark number of sprites is different, and more importantly number of portals is different too.
This is the case I was talking about: incorrect measurements lead to incorrect assumptions and/or opinions about engine’s development over time.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 2:46 am
by Kotti
The first of those benchmarks contains twice as much geometry so it is no surprise it is slower. From those numbers it looks like there is no performance loss. Aside from the obvious, the numbers do not suggest that - unless, of course, the increase in processed portals is the actual problem. But for that to be confirmed, you have to make the bench at exactly the same place.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:32 am
by drfrag
cortlong50 wrote:i will give your engine a test at a later time.

Never mind, but can you confirm if your 3D floors worked in truecolor? Thanks.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 2:23 am
by cortlong50
time for another round of "you did it wrong, do it again."


okay. here are the benches from 3.0.0
EXACT same spot, taken from a save game (moved the player start point to the exact spot, didnt touch the mouse, didnt move.

Spoiler:



3.2.4.

Spoiler:



so, before you say "well theres more being rendered" or anything like that...these are again...taken from the same area without moving, same result.
judging from what i can see...there is still being almost double the things being drawn, even though the settings are the same.
so im wondering if maybe (considering the area uses fog) is there any way that fog on the previous versions causes things not to be rendered? and in the new version everything is still rendered? or anything like that? has there been any changes to the way fog works?
i have also copied the same .INI for both versions. all video settings are the same.
there is obviously double the amount of "things" being rendered in 3.2.4. my question now is why? have any changes in fog or draw distance (if there even is a thing in gzdoom) been changed?




drfrag wrote:
cortlong50 wrote:i will give your engine a test at a later time.

Never mind, but can you confirm if your 3D floors worked in truecolor? Thanks.


hey man here you go, if youd like me to run benches let me know. i can get that done this weekend. its definitely working in the SSE2 executable. first 2 are the truecolor versions, the second 2 are with truecolor turned off. or the other way around....youll figure it out.

https://imgur.com/a/UkHSn

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 2:42 am
by _mental_
It’s something with portals. Without your map it’s a guess game to try to figure this out.
PM me the map and I will find the cause hopefully. Can’t promise anything though. We have two portal related crashes but I have no idea how to fix them properly.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 5:55 am
by drfrag
Thanks very much, the top texture looks right true? (using the fly command). Are you using custom textures? (PNGs?).
Are you sure vid_renderer is set to 0? Could you please now test 3D_BLG7e.wad? viewtopic.php?f=3&t=37508#p713035

If you feel like doing it you could run the bench command once (this with vid_renderer set to 1) or at least tell me how many fps you get in that area of your map. Thanks.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 2:26 pm
by cortlong50
_mental_ wrote:It’s something with portals. Without your map it’s a guess game to try to figure this out.
PM me the map and I will find the cause hopefully. Can’t promise anything though. We have two portal related crashes but I have no idea how to fix them properly.



Kinda what I was thinking. Because this map at most would only show 2 portals from where I’m standing. Which is bad form to have in the same place but the effect it makes is so worth it haha.
I can send it over. It’s...large. So be prepared to download a lot.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 11:54 am
by Ian Buzzstone
I have done a lot of "stess testing " differnt builds of the zdoom/gzdoom/zandronum/skulltag over the past few years after learning of the doom community and very much enjoying doom. I have a AMD Apu based laptop and it is 2.2 ghz cpu and has 512mb vRam... not your top of the line rig... but I can share my experience and note some really amazing information on this topic.

With Gzdoom 1.8.x or 1.9.x or 2.1.1 or 1.7.1 or any other i have tryed ... the performance is pretty bad in both software and hardware modes... I do think the zdoom LE can play somethings that other versions struggle more with ... but is still not the best. If anyone is reading this and thinks that there is no way to play Combat Shock 2 or other large maps w/out lag because its your "hardware/limit of the doom engine/ or just the bad coded map" slowing you down... I have news .

3.6.1 amdfix) seems to work far better than many 3.x.x versions i have tyred for alot of the modern mods like Brutaldoom/ Metadoom/ Beautiful 6.21... and can play most normal maps vanilla okay without mods. But even with all the settings super bare bones it still can not run Large maps at all as well as a few ports I will mention below.

Skulltag 98d on software with Brightmaps.wad and nashgore.wad (for full color in view distance like opengl) can Trump any framerate of all those mentioned for maps like Deus Vault 2 map12 and Combat Shock 2 map04.

Skulltag 97d5 on software with brightmaps.wad and nashgore.wad and doubletexture.wad can still run smooth on those same type of maps...

If your trying to play Complexdoom26a2.pk3 after many many ports tryed... Zandronum 2.1.2 runs on hardware mode is King... and was the intended port to use with it.

So if skulltag from 2008 can run Slaughtermaps with hd textures, nashgore, and keep at a steady 35 fps even when rockets are hitting balls of dudes 5 at a time... WHY does all the "improved, updated " builds lose all this performance?

I think the community would agree that zdoom LE type releases where the focus is performance over more fluff.

Dev's should work on a zdoom based project where it focuses on "the most lightweight, super performance build" or something... Maybe look at the code used in skulltag 97d and shine some light on why I can run huge maps with hoard of dudes on screen and no lag... and on gzdoom X.X.X i can go to Doom ii Map18 and get stutter in the little courtyard area with maybe 30 dudes imp fighting!

It seems this topic of modern source ports being worse for performance is just your CPU / Hardware... but I know now a lot can be done to slim down the current zdoom software to party like its 2007 ..

Thanks for reading my long coffee addled rant and feel free to Reply / ask me questions on my Outrageous banter. :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:56 pm
by Graf Zahl
So if skulltag from 2008 can run Slaughtermaps with hd textures, nashgore, and keep at a steady 35 fps even when rockets are hitting balls of dudes 5 at a time... WHY does all the "improved, updated " builds lose all this performance?


Because...

Ian Buzzstone wrote:II have a AMD Apu based laptop and it is 2.2 ghz cpu and has 512mb vRam... not your top of the line rig... but I can share my experience and note some really amazing information on this topic.


As time goes on, focus is on systems as they are produced today. That means that more advanced graphics features get used and sometimes a bit performance is sacrificed for having better features.

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2018 9:05 pm
by dpJudas
Ian Buzzstone wrote:Dev's should work on a zdoom based project where it focuses on "the most lightweight, super performance build" or something...

You can't tell hobby coders what they should and shouldn't do. That's the catch of not paying for things.

Maybe look at the code used in skulltag 97d

And now we entered the land of devsplaining. Any more tips?

Re: changing openGL versions.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:10 am
by XLightningStormL
I noticed that purging my gzdoom-(name).cfg file and starting my configurations from scratch ended up solving a lot of my FPS problems, might help you out.