[Added] Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Nash » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:42 am

Image

If the command doesn't work, you probably don't have the latest QZDoom devbuild.

Rachael wrote:Okay according to that log there's no reason it shouldn't be working. Nash is right though, if that's a 2-sided line there won't be any shadows on it.

Nash has a map (I am trying to look for it now) that you can test it on - it has fully solid objects that do work properly with it.


Test map is here
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby ZZYZX » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:47 am

Graf Zahl wrote:So far, the biggest stress test I have done for the shadowmaps was E1M6 of P:AR, which contained approx. 60 light sources. On a relatively dated Geforce 550Ti the frame rate dropped from ~115 to ~70 fps for the shadow map.

70 fps with 60 light sources? That's like... perfect. In my maps I'd need literally, no more than TEN (well maybe 15 as the ultimate maximum) lights with shadows, and it'll actually look good.
If SIXTY can be rendered with a decent framerate then you can't say that shadowmaps lag too much.

Or wait, are you talking of dpJudas shadowmaps or proper shadowmaps here?
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine
Discord: ZZYZX#1394
Github ID: jewalky

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:53 am

This is strange. Redownloaded and now the command works but still no visual affection:
Image

Next trying the testmap. Do the editor objects need to have a specific change?

*EDIT*
Testmap works so I am doing something wrong mapwise I'd say...
Last edited by Tormentor667 on Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Rachael » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:54 am

That looks like you're running in Software. Did you remember to switch to OpenGL?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Nash » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:57 am

Nash wrote:Also, if that pillar is a 2-sided line, that doesn't work yet. Also doesn't work on Polyobjects, so none of your doors will block light. Telling you in advance what to expect and what to not expect. :P


Try make a square map with 0 brightness, and pillars made out of 1-sided lines. It will work instantly.

As for level design tips, for the best impact, you'll generally want your sectors to have really low light levels and light the rooms with dynamic lights.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Rachael » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:58 am

Tormentor667 wrote:*EDIT*
Testmap works so I am doing something wrong mapwise I'd say...

No - As Nash said it doesn't work with 2-sided linedefs yet. That includes platforms and slopes and doors and all that fancy stuff.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:58 am

Rachael wrote:That looks like you're running in Software. Did you remember to switch to OpenGL?

Yes, the testmap works
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:58 am

ZZYZX wrote:Or wait, are you talking of dpJudas shadowmaps or proper shadowmaps here?


I'm talking about GZDoom, of course.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:58 am

Rachael wrote:No - As Nash said it doesn't work with 2-sided linedefs yet. That includes platforms and slopes and doors and all that fancy stuff.

The pillar that you can see in my screenshot is one-sided only.
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Nash » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:59 am

Okay Torm just checking - are your lights attenuated or not? All of the lights that I used in my testmaps are attenuated lights.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Rachael » Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:01 am

The pillar might not be big enough to hit a ray test then. The further the light is from an object, and the smaller it is, the greater a chance the shadowmap code will miss it.

Imagine you're drawing lines from a single point on a piece of paper, but you have to stop if you reach any other lines. If you are lucky you might not hit certain lines just because they are too small.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby ZZYZX » Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:18 am

Graf Zahl wrote:
ZZYZX wrote:Or wait, are you talking of dpJudas shadowmaps or proper shadowmaps here?


I'm talking about GZDoom, of course.

Then yea, it's not really laggy or broken.
Remember, the lights that have shadows should be picked by the mapper. No one really expects maps with 100 dynamic lights visible in a single room to have all lights shadowmapped.

Anyway. As I understand, dpJudas actually forgot to mention that this is not even 50% done, so instead of complaining and saying bad words I'll politely ask questions :)
Just to clarify: are we going to get a GLDEFS flag and separate DoomEdNums for shadowmap-enabled lights? Not now, but before the official release that will have this?
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine
Discord: ZZYZX#1394
Github ID: jewalky

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:37 am

Like I said, In Doom with a one dimensional shadow map it is quite easy to discard a lot of lights in the setup pass already because it needs to link into the world anyway - and if no linedef is detected that may obstruct light propagation there's no need to create a shadow map. In the P:AR example it would eliminate 80-90% of the present light sources right away.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:28 am

Nash wrote:Okay Torm just checking - are your lights attenuated or not? All of the lights that I used in my testmaps are attenuated lights.

What are attenuated lights? O_o
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Shadowmaps for GZDoom (can be tested in QZDoom now)

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:33 am

With attenuated lights, white, no change
Image
Still the demo map works well, I don't get the difference...
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests