[No] [Wish] savegames by IWAD

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Postby Killo Zapit » Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:51 am

What's wrong with autosaves? There are only 4 slots for them and they are always on the top!
User avatar
Killo Zapit
PIGBUTT LIVES AGAIN!
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Most likely sleeping.

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Mar 14, 2005 4:24 am

Killo Zapit wrote:What's wrong with autosaves?


I think you answered it yourself:

There are only 4 slots for them



I'd really like to have more. The number should be made a CVAR.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Your Name Is » Mon Mar 14, 2005 9:55 am

That would help with the wierd thing that happens to me where ZDoom has to be reinstalled every time I accidentally do that. Maybe that problem is just me. Also, fix that bug when you delete the saved game that ZDoom freezes
User avatar
Your Name Is
Wake up and smell the ashes.
 
Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby Enjay » Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:10 am

The advice about how to disable them was wrong. I can't check the actual values ATM, but there is a console command/ ini option called disableautosave (or similar). By default this is set to 0 (ie don't disable). If you set it to 1, it disables something and 2 disables even more. I *think* 1 disables the autosaving at the start of a level, but will still autosave if a map author has used an autosave line type or script. Setting it to 2 means autosaving will never happen. At least I think that's it.

65
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Your Name Is » Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:17 am

Hmm.... I should set it to 1 then.
User avatar
Your Name Is
Wake up and smell the ashes.
 
Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby Killo Zapit » Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:53 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:
Killo Zapit wrote:What's wrong with autosaves?


I think you answered it yourself:

There are only 4 slots for them



I'd really like to have more. The number should be made a CVAR.


So he wants to disable autosaves because there isn't enough of them? Yeah, that makes a lot of sense.
Last edited by Killo Zapit on Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Killo Zapit
PIGBUTT LIVES AGAIN!
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Most likely sleeping.

Postby TheDarkArchon » Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:58 pm

The opposite can be true: 4 slots can be too much for some people.
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

Postby Your Name Is » Mon Mar 14, 2005 2:02 pm

Why does deleting a saved game screw up ZDoom?
User avatar
Your Name Is
Wake up and smell the ashes.
 
Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC

Postby TheDarkArchon » Mon Mar 14, 2005 2:31 pm

Image

(Image curtosey of Deathz0r :mrgreen:)
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

Postby Killionaire » Mon Mar 14, 2005 3:09 pm

Enjay wrote:The advice about how to disable them was wrong. I can't check the actual values ATM, but there is a console command/ ini option called disableautosave (or similar). By default this is set to 0 (ie don't disable). If you set it to 1, it disables something and 2 disables even more. I *think* 1 disables the autosaving at the start of a level, but will still autosave if a map author has used an autosave line type or script. Setting it to 2 means autosaving will never happen. At least I think that's it.

65



Yep, well im not completely out of it, and i checked on the Wiki

disableautosave

1. On
2. Only when required (some PWADs like to autosave in the middle, ZDCMP 1 had this)
3. Never


I set it to 3 and im fine, i save frequently enough anyways.
User avatar
Killionaire
Killer of Millionaires
 
Joined: 05 Mar 2005
Location: United States, Virginia

Previous

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests