[Done] clipping mid textures

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

clipping mid textures

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:10 pm

See here:

http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?t= ... clipmidtex

Graf Zahl wrote:I just discovered this line:

Code: Select allExpand view
- Added support for clipping midtextures on all lines, because I think Strife
  looks better that way. (Even though it looks like Strife does not do this.)


Does this mean that ZDoom can now properly clip mid textures to the actual floor and ceiling?
Since I couldn't find anything in the code for this except that it is explicitly set when Strife is being played, could you make this a MAPINFO flag? If that was available it could greatly reduce the amount of maps that have to hack around this limitation. I think it would be greatly appreciated.



It was apparently completely buried in the General forum but this would be a really useful feature because right now you need awful hacks to do this properly.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby MartinHowe » Thu Mar 10, 2005 2:58 am

And it should include sprites as well. If part of a sprite is "under the floor" you currently get the lower part flashing in and out of view and it would be nice to be rid of this.
User avatar
MartinHowe
In space, no-one can hear you KILL an ALIEN
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Location: Waveney, United Kingdom

Postby Risen » Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:11 am

For sprites: No.
Most sprites in Doom have an offset so that part of them falls below the floor. This helps create the illusion of depth. Clipping them would make them all look very strange.
User avatar
Risen
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Location: N44°30' W073°05'

Postby MasterOFDeath » Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:45 am

Just look at ports that screw that up and clip them, like VaVoom and PrBoom's opengl (thank God for that offset option). It just looks dumb :P
User avatar
MasterOFDeath
professional lurking witch
... in loving memory ...
 
Joined: 03 Apr 2004

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:09 am

MasterOFDeath wrote:Just look at ports that screw that up and clip them, like VaVoom and PrBoom's opengl (thank God for that offset option). It just looks dumb :P



OpenGL ports have no other option due to the z-buffer. What's dumb about these 2 ports is that they don't contain any means to deal with such sprites in a sensible manner. Most other OpenGL ports shift them up but that can also look stupid in many cases.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: clipping mid textures

Postby Cyril Derringtere » Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:51 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Since I couldn't find anything in the code for this except that it is explicitly set when Strife is being played, could you make this a MAPINFO flag? If that was available it could greatly reduce the amount of maps that have to hack around this limitation.


Would this option be just a mapinfo option or could we have a flag to set on a per linedef basis?

Foreverhood currently has to "hack" this limitation when decorating the ground with vegitation, since they are offset mid textutres scaled to look as if the vegitation is comming out of the ground. Its such a pain in the ass to manually calculate the offsets each time i try to decorate a sector with a different ceiling or floor height. Heres a screenshot; take a look at the left hand corner to see the vegitation i speek of.

Image
Cyril Derringtere
 

Postby skadoomer » Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:52 pm

edit, thats weird, i was logged in a minute ago.
skadoomer
 
Joined: 05 Sep 2003

Re: clipping mid textures

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:56 pm

Anonymous wrote:
Graf Zahl wrote:Since I couldn't find anything in the code for this except that it is explicitly set when Strife is being played, could you make this a MAPINFO flag? If that was available it could greatly reduce the amount of maps that have to hack around this limitation.


Would this option be just a mapinfo option or could we have a flag to set on a per linedef basis?




I'd do both. A mapinfo setting might be more useful but I could imagine that someone wants one setting globally and then change it for a few selected linedefs.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Risen » Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:07 pm

Why would you have a problem offsetting them? Just lower unpeg those lines.
User avatar
Risen
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Location: N44°30' W073°05'

Postby skadoomer » Tue Mar 15, 2005 12:46 pm

that works? i thought that only applied to upper/lower textures
skadoomer
 
Joined: 05 Sep 2003

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:08 pm

skadoomer wrote:that works? i thought that only applied to upper/lower textures


:roll: :laff: :mrgreen:
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Enjay » Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:51 pm

skadoomer wrote:that works? i thought that only applied to upper/lower textures


It's when you find out stuff like that you want to kick yourself when you realise how many hours you could have saved. Like the day I found out it was possible to select more than one line at a time in DEU back in the day... :shock:

63
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Mar 15, 2005 6:59 pm

Yes, something like that...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests