[Added] New actor property: BloodSprite

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Postby Cutmanmike » Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:43 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Here's some advice: Use models where it makes sense. This doesn't.

SlayeR wrote:Yeah I don't see the point in a bloodsplat model

Nash wrote:*insert PWNAGE here*


Oh my that's funny. Awesome idea too nash!

Grubber wrote:Adding future features into the wiki is nonsense. They can be changed and the info only confuse people.


What page is this? I'd like to make a template to warn people which could be used for many other things.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Discord: https://discord.gg/Whts7Bj
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Postby Tormentor667 » Wed Aug 30, 2006 6:54 am

This is indeed a very clever trick :) Awesome!
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Nash » Wed Aug 30, 2006 12:24 pm

Updated my post with a flag proposal to go along with the property, if it gets added.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:29 pm

Added. There are 3 actors that can be replaced: Blood, BloodSplatter and AxeBlood. There is one new property:

Code: Select allExpand view
BloodType replaceBlood [, replaceBloodSplatter [, replaceAxeBlood]]


If only one type is specified it will be used for all 3 blood actors.
A DONTTRANSLATE flag has been added, too.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby HotWax » Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:01 pm

What about a PuffType property?
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 2:17 am

Nearly all functions that can spawn puffs already have such a parameter. Puffs depend on the weapon being used, not the object being hit.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Anakin S. » Wed Nov 29, 2006 2:37 am

But the railgun still uses the default bullet puff when it hits a noblood actor, right? Can that be set too?

So do you use the property by typing this?
Code: Select allExpand view
BloodType replaceBloodSplatter "NewBloodSplatter"


@HotWax: Do you mean something like having different hitting sounds for different armor materials, as in Hexen 2 and Warcraft 3?
User avatar
Anakin S.
Am I evil?
 
Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Location: A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:03 am

Thanks for pointing that out. I added a puff parameter to A_RailAttack and A_CustomRailgun.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Nash » Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:56 am

Thank you so much, Graf. I was beginning to think this wasn't going to be considered.

EDIT:

Would this be correct?

Code: Select allExpand view

actor FlameDemon : Demon
{
BloodType replacesBlood "FlameChunk"
}

User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 5:03 am

Nash wrote:Thank you so much, Graf. I was beginning to think this wasn't going to be considered.

EDIT:

Would this be correct?

Code: Select allExpand view

actor FlameDemon : Demon
{
BloodType replacesBlood "FlameChunk"
}



No. replacesBlood is not a keyword, it's just a placeholder.

Code: Select allExpand view
actor FlameDemon : Demon
{
BloodType "FlameChunk"
}


would be correct.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby HotWax » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:08 am

Question on DONTTRANSLATE:

Is this a flag added for this particular property? i.e. would this work:

BloodType "FlameChunk" "FlameSplatter" DONTTRANSLATE

Or is this a separate flag that goes on its own line? If so, what does it affect?

Cutmanmike wrote:What page is this? I'd like to make a template to warn people which could be used for many other things.


You can start here. :)
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:16 am

It's a real flag that has to be used like all other flags. A_SpawnItem will also not transfer a translation if it is set.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Nash » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:17 am

I imagine +DONTTRANSLATE would go to the custom blood actor.

A useful example would be to make a FlameDemon that bleeds yellow without the game engine affecting the flame chunks' translation.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:32 am

The default is not to translate the blood anyway. You only need this flag if you are doing something special with the blood that might get affected by translations. This is more likely when replacing Blood globally. As long as you control everything you won't need this flag.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby HotWax » Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:33 am

OK, hopefully I understood that. Please verify that the description on this page is correct:

http://www.zdoom.org/wiki/index.php?tit ... _.26_Sound
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

PreviousNext

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests