[Added] New actor property: BloodSprite

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

New actor property: BloodSprite <class>

Postby Nash » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:05 am

This idea has been discussed a few times before this so I thought I'd make a thread for this feature request.

I propose a new actor property that's used to tell the engine what actor to spawn when it bleeds (shot by a hitscan weapon, crushed by ceiling, etc).

Code: Select allExpand view
BloodSprite "Gibs"


... would spawn the pool of gibs when you shoot a monster.

This is definitely necessary if you want to make a fiery monster drop chunks of flames, a stone golem dropping chunks of rock or the Revenant and Lost Soul to drop bone chips when you shoot them with hitscan weapons.

Another reason why I think this would be useful would apply for GZDoom use:

I have replaced the Blood actor with a 3-d model in GZDoom. I think it would be impossible to have the model's texture to be colourized the same as the actor's BloodColor. So if you have a Cacodemon that bleeds blue; the blood particles are blue in colour, but the 3-d model that comes out will be coloured red.

Using BloodSprite, I would be able to easily assign different blood actors and therefore different coloured textured models. In the above example's case, I can use BloodSprite "BlueBlood" for the Cacodemon, and in the MODELDEF, define a different model for BlueBlood.

EDIT:

If the above feature does get implemented, the following flag proposal would also be an ideal companion to the feature.

Code: Select allExpand view
+DONTTRANSLATEBLOODSPRITE


This flag will tell the engine to NOT translate the custom blood sprite using the actor's BloodColor property.
Last edited by Nash on Wed Aug 30, 2006 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: New actor property: BloodSprite <class>

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:24 am

Nash wrote:
I have replaced the Blood actor with a 3-d model in GZDoom.



Here's some advice: Use models where it makes sense. This doesn't.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby sirjuddington » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:44 am

Yeah I don't see the point in a bloodsplat model :P The feature itself would be useful though.
User avatar
sirjuddington
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Discord: sirjuddington#7496
Github ID: sirjuddington

Postby Nash » Sun Aug 20, 2006 12:00 pm

Of course it does make sense.

The model is really in shape of flat blood splats since (G)ZDoom does not support floor decals.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Postby Ryan Cordell » Sun Aug 20, 2006 12:28 pm

Ooh. Nice. :)
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Wills » Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:21 pm

Heh, that looks good. Make sure to have monsters drop a lot of blood splats where they fall when they die.

On topic: I agree with the fact this could be a handy feature. Nash already gave good examples, so I won't continue to expound.
User avatar
Wills
 
Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Location: The Well of Wishes

Postby Alterworldruler » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:30 am

nice example of this requested feature nash :)
User avatar
Alterworldruler
Crushing your soul, $9,99 per day!
 
Joined: 19 Dec 2005

Postby Xaser » Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:02 pm

Nice one there! I didn't even think about using models for that at all... backatcha Graf? Ah nevermind... that was a bit mean, I should probably chill out or something. :P

Anyway, this would probably come in handy or something. I've been messing around a bit with custom blood types and as it turns out, although I can use the new Replaces keyword to create entirely new blood splats, it doesn't work well when colorizing. I use a similar method to Caligari's puff objects from his Halo mod (or ww-stranger if you will) where the main splat spawns a bit of tiny ones in the air (literally a blood *splat*), however these small ones don't change color when using the BloodColor property (they stay red). I've made custom variants for the Cacos and Barons but I currently have no means of implementing them. So therefore, I strongly support this suggestion. :P
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Postby Grubber » Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:11 am

Changelog wrote:Added an optional second parameter to A_SpawnDebris and an optional fifth parameter to A_SpawnItem that both do the same thing: If you set it to 1, then the spawned actor will be assigned the same translation table as the actor that called the function.
User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Ryan Cordell » Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:30 am

It was even added in the wiki by mself, after reading that added feature, just FYI.
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Nash » Mon Aug 28, 2006 11:51 am

That still doesn't solve the problem of assigning differet blood sprites per actor.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Postby Grubber » Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:37 am

Adding future features into the wiki is nonsense. They can be changed and the info only confuse people.
User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Ryan Cordell » Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:41 am

Grubber wrote:Adding future features into the wiki is nonsense. They can be changed and the info only confuse people.


That's why there's a lil' note in the page, saying it is for the SVN version only.
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Postby Grubber » Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:33 am

So what's the point of having it there when people can't use it?
User avatar
Grubber
I can wire anything directly into anything. I am the professor!
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2003
Location: Czech Republic

Postby Ryan Cordell » Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:57 am

They can wait until the new ZDoom comes out, or just compile the SVN version. :P
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Next

Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daedalus and 1 guest