[Already In] Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Moderator: Developers

Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby rchrdcrg » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:52 am

I noticed something and thought I might make a small feature suggestion for modders. I tend to prefer the randomized pitches sound option turned on so my ears don't get quite as bored, but in some instances things don't sound right, such as the spinning chain gun barrel in Brutal Doom, where each loop of the effect comes in at a different pitch and ruins the seamlessness of the sound loop. I was curious if there could be a way to exclude specific sounds from the randomized pitch function (as well as the inverse and forcing a sample to play back with randomized pitch). That way, the users could flip that setting however they like, and the modders can ensure the user isn't getting a wonky experience due to the user's preference in settings.

Thanks!
rchrdcrg
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2018

Re: Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby Enjay » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:14 pm

$pitchshiftrange 0 in SNDINFO
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:54 am

I wish we could get the opposite of this, though.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Magician
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa Kirisame#4689
Twitch ID: magusmarisa

Re: Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby Enjay » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:14 am

You mean force certain sounds to be pitch-shifted even when shifting is disabled?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby Xaser » Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:53 am

Quasi-related: I've never considered pitch shifting to be a usable modding feature because users have to switch on a setting for it to work (which they won't).

A "yes I know what I'm doing; this isn't the default weirdo Doom pitch shifting" override would be handy, but then we're dealing with overrides-of-overrides again. :P
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:22 am

Or at least a way to set pitch when playing sounds from scripting
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Magician
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa Kirisame#4689
Twitch ID: magusmarisa

Re: Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby Enjay » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:24 pm

I guess the obvious way is to pitch shift a sound in a sound editor then save a bunch of shifted files and use $random in SNDINFO. Clearly not a very efficient solution compared to a couple of lines of text in a control lump of some sort though.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby Xaser » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:54 pm

Marisa Kirisame wrote:Or at least a way to set pitch when playing sounds from scripting

That'd rock, TBH. A parameter to A_PlaySound that just always works regardless of the setting, since then we can just frandom it up and get results on demand, without introducing any compatibility cruft to the old way of doing things.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby kodi » Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:29 pm

A tempo argument would be absolutely amazing too
User avatar
kodi
Proscrastinator
 
 
 
Joined: 06 May 2013

Re: Specify sounds to exclude from random pitches?

Postby De-M-oN » Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:12 am

Enjay wrote:I guess the obvious way is to pitch shift a sound in a sound editor then save a bunch of shifted files and use $random in SNDINFO. Clearly not a very efficient solution compared to a couple of lines of text in a control lump of some sort though.

And reduces quality if you recompress lossy to lossy format.
User avatar
De-M-oN
 
Joined: 26 May 2008


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest