Option to choose folder where IWADS are located

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Option to choose folder where IWADS are located

Postby Casualfan » Sun Apr 17, 2022 12:49 pm

So I noticed that with Raze, if I put the game files into folders but keep the folders in the same directory as the executable, Raze will still detect all the games. Whereas in GZDOOM, I have to put all the IWADS into the same directory as the executable, and they won't be detected when put into a folder even if the folder is in the same directory as the executable. I know I can go into the .INI to change where the files are detected but...I don't know how to do that haha. It would be great to be able to have a system like Raze's in place, or even have an option to choose what folder the program should check for IWADS. Just a suggestion to help the technologically illiterate such as myself :biggrin:
Casualfan
Just another casual...
 
Joined: 14 Jan 2022

Re: Option to choose folder where IWADS are located

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Apr 17, 2022 12:51 pm

I plan to combine the base game file lookup for both ports eventually. But it's not a high priority feature so it may take time.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Option to choose folder where IWADS are located

Postby irukanjji » Sun Apr 17, 2022 2:51 pm

Casualfan wrote:So I noticed that with Raze, if I put the game files into folders but keep the folders in the same directory as the executable, Raze will still detect all the games. Whereas in GZDOOM, I have to put all the IWADS into the same directory as the executable, and they won't be detected when put into a folder even if the folder is in the same directory as the executable. I know I can go into the .INI to change where the files are detected but...I don't know how to do that haha. It would be great to be able to have a system like Raze's in place, or even have an option to choose what folder the program should check for IWADS. Just a suggestion to help the technologically illiterate such as myself :biggrin:


Just add, in the ini file:

[IWADSearch.Directories]
Path=.
Path=$DOOMWADDIR
Path=$HOME
Path=$PROGDIR/iwads
irukanjji
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2014

Re: Option to choose folder where IWADS are located

Postby chunks » Wed Jun 01, 2022 3:11 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:I plan to combine the base game file lookup for both ports eventually. But it's not a high priority feature so it may take time.

Very cool.

In the meantime, Casualfan, you could try a loader like ZDL or something. Makes keeping your wads/maps/etc organized a lot easier.
User avatar
chunks
 
Joined: 31 May 2022
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests