Inventory item binding menu

Remember, just because you request it, that doesn't mean you'll get it.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Inventory item binding menu

Postby doomwell » Fri Mar 19, 2021 3:12 pm

QOL: It would be nice if individual inventory items (like Hexen artifacts) had a binding menu inside the inventory key config menu. Could have a submenu for each game, also. Idk what Porkelator is in Spanish, though :roll:
doomwell
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2021
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Inventory item binding menu

Postby Rachael » Fri Mar 19, 2021 6:09 pm

doomwell wrote:Idk what Porkelator is in Spanish, though :roll:


Since Porkelator is an arbitrarily made up word (and is a portmanteau of multiple words such as "pork" and "ator") a new word must be made up in its place. Basically the "ator" part of "alator" turns "pork" into a verb, implying what it does: turns a target into pork. (Or a pig to be more specific)

Language is not the rules that defines it - unlike many things in life, when it comes to language, rules are defined by its widespread use. And thus this is the case that must apply here as well. That means you have to make up a new word for it. You can either use the English word directly, or create a new Spanish portmanteau that represents it.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Inventory item binding menu

Postby m8f » Fri Mar 19, 2021 9:19 pm

There is a mod for that: Hotkeys Galore! by Tesculpture.
User avatar
m8f
dreamer
 
 
 
Joined: 29 Dec 2017
Location: Siberia (UTC+7)
Discord: m8f#0629
Github ID: mmaulwurff
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit

Re: Inventory item binding menu

Postby doomwell » Sat Mar 20, 2021 2:48 pm

Mentioned the porkelator part because I was seeing how hard it would be to edit the zscript menus, and noticed translations would be the hardest part, probably.

As for that mod, well I just made my own keyconf, but it lost its bindings once for some unknown reason. So now I just do them by hand right in the base game bindings :/
doomwell
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2021
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests